Edit synchronization rules

Note: This topic is relevant for NextGen Synchronizer only. For details about the ALM Synchronizer, see ALM Synchronizer for Agile Manager or search using the ALM Synchronizer filter.

View the current settings on the link configuration Rules tab, and modify as needed.
For requirement links, select the sub node for each requirement type in the tree to view its rules.

Read each option carefully before selecting.

The rules describe how the synchronization process handles creation, modification, and deletion of entities in each endpoint.

For requirement links, the endpoint selected as the master also controls the requirement hierarchy.

Click Edit Link to modify settings, and Save Link to save your changes.

  • For a requirement type, specify which endpoint serves as a master and controls the synchronized entities.

  • In the Agile Manager column, select the action that you want to occur in ALM for changes made in Agile Manager.

    In the ALM/QC column, select the action that you want to occur in Agile Manager for changes made in ALM.

    The direction arrows between the two columns change to reflect your selections. Selecting specific rules affect your ability to select other rules.

    For example, if you select When a record is created in Agile ManagerCreate a corresponding record in ALM/QC, the same rule is automatically selected for updated records below, and you cannot change this selection.

  • For a release link, specify which endpoints serves as the dominant side for synchronizing sprints and cycles, in case of conflicts.

  • For a release link, you can also specify how to handle existing or past releases.

Caution: Modifying rules may also affect your field mapping. After making changes on this tab, be sure to verify the mappings defined on the Field Mapping tab. For details, see Edit field mapping.

Additionally, if you modify rules after having run a successful synchronization, you will need to schedule a full synchronization for the next run. For details, see Full synchronizations.

Note: You must always run an integrity check after modifying a link's configuration. We also recommend running a simulation to prevent errors occurring in the actual synchronization. For details, see Run synchronizations.