At the end of a sprint, all user stories should be closed. If you invested time in a user story, but not all its tasks and acceptance tests are completed, split the story. Remaining effort and non-passed acceptance tests are moved under a new user story, which you can assign to a future sprint. A link is automatically created between the original user story and the new one.
Available from: Sprint Backlog, Task Board, Sprint Closure (Open Items grid)
Right-click a user story, and select Split Story.
Specify the sprint that the new user story will be assigned to, and update details of tasks and acceptance tests as needed.
You can only split a story within a release. You cannot split a story to a sprint in a different release.
Splitting a story is different than breaking a user story, which is done when you have a large story you want to divide into smaller pieces.
After breaking, the group stories are visible only in the Group Stories view on the Product Backlog grid. For details, see Create a group story.
|Original user story (after split)||New user story|
|Story points||Set to zero.||All the story points from the original story are transferred to the new story.|
|User story status||
By default, set to Done.
You can also keep the original story open after the split. Specify a different status in the Split Story dialog box.
|Assigned to||Both user stories and tasks remain assigned to the users they were assigned to in the original story.|
|Acceptance tests||Passed acceptance tests remain in the original story.||
By default, all Not Started and Failed acceptance tests are moved to the new story.
Clear any acceptance tests that you do not want to move over.