Undoing Checkouts Using ALM Robot

ALM Robot enables you to revert version controlled projects to their state prior to the check out. This activity is especially useful as a centralized approach to managing version controlled entities. For example, you can unlock the checked out entities of users that are no longer using your projects.

Caution: Performing undo checkout causes the loss of any data updates made since the entities were last checked in.


  • The user running the Undo checkout activity must be the project administrator of the selected projects. This can be done manually by assigning the user in the Project Users tab to the relevant projects. For details, see Assigning Users to Projects.

    Alternatively, to set the user running the Undo checkout activity as a project administrator, set the ROBOT_AUTO_ADD_USER site parameter to "Y". For details, see Customizing ALM Robot.

  • Undo checkout is also performed by ALM Robot as part of the Upgrade activity.
  • Before you get started with ALM Robot, review the Considerations Before Getting Started with ALM Robot.

To undo check outs using ALM Robot:

  1. In Site Administration, select Tools > ALM Robot. ALM Robot opens.

  2. Click Add Activity to create a new activity for ALM Robot. A wizard opens in the Activity Settings page.

  3. Define activity settings.

    On the Activity Settings page of the wizard:

    1. In the Activity Name box, enter a name for your activity.
    2. In the Type box, select Undo checkout.
    3. Determine the source location of the projects for project selection. The source depends on where your Site Administration database schema is located.


      To undo checkout of projects already upgraded to the current ALM version, select Target as the source of the projects.


      To undo checkout of projects on previous ALM versions, select Origin as the source of the projects, and click Edit Env list to add the original ALM server to the list of environments. See Customizing ALM Robot for details.

    4. Click Next to open the Projects Selection page.

  4. Select projects.

    On the Projects Selection page of the wizard:

    1. From the list of projects and domains, select the version controlled projects to include in your activity. You can select all projects, all projects in a specific domain, or specific projects.

      The Dependencies column indicates any project dependencies. Projects that have lab extensions are dependent on Lab_Project, and projects that are linked to a template are dependent on the template project

      After your selection, click to move the selected projects to the Selected Projects & Rank pane.

      To remove projects from the selected list, select the projects and click to remove them from the Selected Projects & Rank pane.

    2. To set the order in the Selected Projects & Rank pane in which the projects will be processed during the upgrade, highlight a project and click the arrows at the top to move the project up or down in the list.

      Note: By default, ALM Robot can process up to 10 projects simultaneously on each ALM node. To change the default value, edit the ROBOT_MAX_TASKS_PER_NODE site parameter and set it according to your environment performance, as a large value can cause performance degradation.

    3. Click Next for a summary of the activity you have created.

  5. Review the activity summary.

    1. The Activity Summary shows the configuration of your activity. The Activity Tasks shows the projects selected for your activity.
    2. Click Submit. ALM Robot starts the validation process.

      If the validation process is completed successfully, the activity begins processing. The dashboard window opens. See ALM Robot Dashboard Actions for details.

      If ALM Robot detects an error while validating the selected projects, fix the error and click Submit.