Assigning Projects to Users

As an ALM site administrator, you can control user access to ALM projects by defining the projects to which a user can log on. When a user is no longer working on a project, remove the user from the User Projects list.

When you add a user to a project, the user is automatically assigned to the project with Viewer privileges. For details on user groups and group privileges, see Managing Users in a Project and Managing User Groups and Permissions.


  • You can assign users to projects from the Site Projects tab. For details, see Assigning Users to Projects.

  • ALM sends automatic email notification to project administrators when users are assigned or removed from a project in Site Administration. You can make automatic notification unavailable by adding the AUTO_MAIL_USER_NOTIFICATION parameter in the Site Configuration tab. For details, see Setting ALM Configuration Parameters.

To assign projects to a user:

  1. In Site Administration, click the Site Users tab. In the right pane, select the User Projects tab. The Projects list for the selected user is displayed.

    Tip: You can click the Domain column to change the sort order from ascending to descending domain names. You can also click the Project column to sort according to project instead of domain name.

  2. In the Users list in the left pane, select a user.

    Tip: You can search for a user by typing the name of a user in the Find box, and clicking the Find button .

    The selected user's projects are displayed in the User Projects list.

    To group user projects by domain, select Group By Domain. Clear the check box to remove the group by settings.

  3. In the User Projects tab, click the Select Projects button. The ALM Projects list is displayed in a new pane to the right of the User Projects tab.

  4. To select projects from the Projects list, expand the directory, and select the projects that you want to assign to the user.

    To clear all selected projects, click Clear All.

  5. Click the Add current user to the selected projects button . The selected projects are added to the User Projects list.

  6. To remove a project from the User Projects list, select the project in the User Projects tab and click the Remove button. Click OK to confirm. The project is removed from the User Projects list.

    Note: This does not delete the project from the server.

  7. To refresh the User Projects list, click the Refresh button .