To protect a project from unauthorized access, ALM enables you to assign each user to one or more groups. ALM includes predefined groups with default privileges. Each group has access to certain ALM tasks. The default user groups include: TDAdmin, QATester, Project Manager, Developer, and Viewer.
The following additional default user groups are available: Performance Advisor, Performance Tester, Performance Test Specialist.
When a project requires that certain user groups have privileges that are outside the scope of their default permissions, you can add your own customized user groups and assign each group a unique set of privileges.
After you set user group permissions, you can also define the ALM modules to which you want to give a user group access. When a user group member logs in to a project, only the authorized modules are displayed.
ALM template administrators use cross project customization to apply customization from a template project to one or more ALM projects. For information, see Cross Project Customization.
ALM Editions: Cross project customization is not available for Quality Center Enterprise Edition. For more information about ALM editions and their functionality, see the Micro Focus Application Lifecycle Management User Guide
If you are working with cross project customization, consider the following when setting permissions for groups:
Working with a Template Project: If you are working with a template project, in Project Customization, you use the Groups (Shared) link to manage user groups and permissions. User groups created in a template project are created in the linked projects when you apply the template customization. The users assigned to the user group in the template project are not applied to linked projects. For details on applying template customization, see Applying Template Customization to Linked Projects.
Working with a Linked Project: User groups defined by a template project are displayed with a template icon in the linked project. You can assign users to user groups defined by the template project. You cannot modify, rename, or delete a user group defined by the template project. You can, however, limit the records that the user group can view. For details, see Hiding Data for a User Group.