Role Management tab (for SaaS only)

The Role Management tab in Web Administration enables you to manage roles for ALM SaaS users.

Overview

ALM SaaS environments use roles to control permissions for SaaS users. The permissions cover the following areas:

  • Customers

  • Projects

  • Authentication

  • Role Management

  • User Management

  • Audit Log

  • Usage Report

  • Connected Users

For an end customer

Permissions in each area are grouped under My Customer Context Permissions. You can select permissions for the end customer only.

For an owner customer

Permissions in each area are grouped under My Customer Context Permissions and Switch Customer Context Permissions.

  • Under My Customer Context Permissions, you select permissions for the owner customer.

  • Under Switch Customer Context Permissions, you select permissions for the end customer under the owner customer.

Note: Only users with the View Roles permission can access the Role Management tab. Site admin and customer admin users have this permission by default.

Back to top

Create roles

In the Role Management tab, you can create, clone, edit, and delete roles.

Action Details
Create a role

To create a role:

  1. Click the Add button .

  2. Enter the role name, and click the check button .

  3. From the permissions list grouped by areas, select the permissions for the role.

  4. Click Save.

Clone a role

To clone a role:

  1. In the All Roles list, hover over an existing role, and click the Clone button .

  2. Enter the name for the copied role, and click the check button .

  3. From the permissions list grouped by areas, select the permissions for the role.

  4. Click Save.

Edit a role

To edit a role:

  1. In the All Roles list, hover over an existing role, and click the Edit button to edit the role name.

  2. From the permissions list grouped by areas, update the permissions for the role.

  3. Click Save.

Delete a role

To delete a role:

  1. In the All Roles list, hover over an existing role, and click the Delete button .

  2. Click Yes in the confirmation dialog box.

Back to top

See also: