Manage domains

This section describes how to create domains, view and edit its details, and delete domains.

Overview of domain

Projects are grouped by domain. A domain contains a group of related projects and assists you in organizing and managing a large number of projects. Each domain contains a Projects folder and a Template Projects folder to organize your projects and template projects.

Note: ALM Editions: Some functionality in Web Administration is limited per edition. For example, ALM template projects are not available with Quality Center Enterprise Edition. For more information about ALM editions and their functionality, see ALM Editions.

Back to top

Create a domain

To create a domain:

  1. Open Web Administration. Click the Projects tab.

  2. Click Create Domain , enter the domain name, and click Save.

    The domain name cannot be longer than 30 characters, must begin with a letter, and can include only letters, digits, and underscores.

    Note: Support of non-English characters depends on the database settings used by the server. To avoid any possible issues, do not use non-English characters in domain names.

    The domain is added to the Projects list in alphabetical order.

Back to top

View and edit domain details

To view and edit the details of a domain:

  1. Click the domain from the Projects list.

  2. In the Details area, view or edit the following.

    UI Element Description
    Directories section
    Physical Directory

    Read-only. The location of the domain.

    Miscellaneous section
    Contact Name Add a person's name as the contact when there are questions or problems with the domain or its projects.
    Contact E-mail Add the email address of the contact person for the domain.
    User Quota

    Decide the number of users allowed to connect concurrently to the domain.

    • Unlimited Connections: Select this option if there is no limit on the number of users allowed to connect concurrently to the domain.

    • Maximum Connections: Enter the maximum number of users you allow to connect concurrently to the domain.

    Default DB Server Select a default database server when creating projects in the domain.
  3. Click Save to save your changes.

Back to top

Delete a domain

If you delete a domain, it is removed from the Projects list, and its contents are deleted from the server.

Note: You cannot delete a domain if it contains projects or template projects. To delete the domain, you must first delete the projects.

To delete a domain, in the Projects list, hover over the domain you want to delete, and click Delete . Click Yes in the confirmation dialog box.

Back to top

See also: