ALM Homepage

The ALM Homepage collectively gathers the information relevant to your project work.

About ALM Homepage

When you open your ALM project, the My Homepage is displayed, highlighting your open work items, the most recent visits, and the dashboards you pinned to the homepage.

The homepage includes the following content:

Tab Description
My Work

Displays what requires your actions and what you've worked on:

  • Overview. Highlights the entities that require your actions or attention. You can customize which items should be displayed in this section. For details, see Manage your personal Overview.

  • Shared Overview. If other users shared their Overview settings, Shared Overview highlights the entities that apply the shared Overview settings. For details, see Share your personal Overview.

  • Recent Visits. Lists what you have created, viewed, or updated recently. For details, see View your visit history.

My Dashboard

Displays the graphs of the dashboard you've pinned to the homepage. It enables you to view the graphs you care about most.

For details, see View your dashboards.

Back to top

Open or close My Homepage

By default, the My Homepage is opened every time you log in to your project. If you don't want it to be displayed in every login, clear the Always display home page after login option at the bottom of the page.

  • To close the My Homepage, click any modules.

  • To open the My Homepage, on the top of the sidebar, click the homepage icon .

Back to top

Manage your personal Overview

The Overview tab of the ALM Homepage highlights the entities that require your actions or attention. It can be defects, tests, or requirements that are assigned to you, and defects that are detected by you but are not closed.

You can customize what the Overview tab displays.

In this section:

Default items

By default, the Overview tab shows the following entities:

Item Description
Defects Assigned to Me

Shows the number of defects that meet the following filters:

  • Are assigned to you.

  • The status is not Closed.

My Active Defects

Shows the number of defects that meet the following filters:

  • Are detected by you

  • The status is not Closed.

My Blocked Tests

Shows the number of test instances that meet the following filters:

  • The Responsible Tester is set to you.

  • The status is Blocked.

Test Assigned to Me

Shows the number of the test instances that meet the following filters:

  • The test type is MANUAL.

  • The Responsible Tester is set to you.

  • The status is No Run or Not Completed.

Customize your personal Overview items

To customize what the Overview section highlights, you can edit the default items or add new items.

To customize items:

  1. In the top-right corner of the Overview widget, click Overview Configuration .

    The Overview tab only displays items listed in the Displayed Items panel. The default items are listed in this panel by default.

  2. To add an item, click Add , and specify the following:

    Field Description
    Name Enter a name for the new item.
    Filter

    This field does not allow direct editing.

    To define filters for the new item, set and copy filter settings in one of the following areas, and paste the settings into this field using Ctrl + V:

    • Test Plan module

    • Execution Grid tab of a test set

    • Requirement module

    • Defect module

    For example, to define defect filters:

    1. Open the Defects module, click Set Filter/Sort to set the defect filters, and then click Copy Filter Settings.

    2. Go back here. In the Filter field, use Ctrl + V to paste the filter settings. The Entity Type field is auto-filled with Defects.

    For details about setting filters, see Filter dialog box.

    Entity Type If the value of the Filter field is valid, this field is auto-filled based on the filter settings.
    Description Provide a description for the new item.
    • New items are added to the Waiting List panel.

    • You can add up to 4 items in the Waiting List panel.

  3. To copy an existing item, select the existing item, and click Duplicate . Edit the Name, Filter, and Description of the new item.

    To edit the filter, click Clear Filter to clear the existing filter settings, set and copy filter settings in the entity module, and then use Ctrl + V to paste the settings.

  4. To reorder an item, select the item, and click the up or down arrow.

    When an item in the Waiting List is moved up to the Displayed Items, the last displayed item is moved down to the Waiting List.

  5. To delete an item, select the item, and click Remove .

    • When you delete a displayed item, the first item in the Waiting List is automatically moved to the Displayed Items.

    • You cannot delete any displayed item when there are no items in the waiting list. There should always be 4 displayed items.

  6. Click Save to save your customizations.

Back to top

View Shared Overview

If other users, for example, your project manager or project administrator, shared their Overview settings, you can view entities that apply the shared Overview settings from the Shared Overview tab.

  • You cannot customize shared Overview items.

  • When the sharing Overview settings feature is disabled, the Shared Overview tab is not displayed.

  • When the Overview settings are updated, the items in the Shared Overview tab are updated accordingly.

Back to top

Share your personal Overview

With required permission, you can share your personal Overview settings. By sharing the Overview settings, you can centrally set up an aligned widget and distribute it to all project users without requiring them to go through the configuration steps.

Prerequisite:

Any user with the Share Homepage permission can share their Overview settings and stop sharing the Overview settings.

The TDAdmin and Porject Manger user groups are by default granted this permission.

To share your Overview settings:

From My Homepage > My Work > Overview, click Share Overview .

When the Overview settings are already shared (either by you or by other users), clicking Share Overview replaces the existing shared settings.

To stop sharing the Overview settings:

After the Overview settings are shared (either by you or by other users), you can stop sharing the Overview settings from your homepage. When the sharing is stopped, project users no longer see the Shared Overview tab from their homepage.

To stop sharing Overview settings, from My Homepage > My Work > Shared Overview, click Stop sharing Overview.

Back to top

View your visit history

From the ALM Homepage > Recent Visits section, you can view the defects, tests, requirements, and analysis items you have recently created, viewed, or updated.

  • The recent visited entities are grouped by entity type.

  • For each entity group, only the top 10 most recent visited entities are listed.

  • To view the details of an entity, expand the entity group and click the entity ID.

  • Entities that were modified in batch are not listed in this section.

Back to top

View your dashboards

The My Dashboard tab displays the graphs of the dashboard you have pinned to My Homepage.

To pin a dashboard to My Homepage:

  1. On the ALM sidebar, under Dashboard, select Dashboard View.

  2. Right-click a dashboard, and select Pin to Homepage.

    If you pin another dashboard to the homepage, it replaces the dashboard you already pinned before.

Back to top