Upgrading from previous releases

Before upgrading Micro Focus Connect, you should first stop any connections that are running in your existing installation. The updated version of Micro Focus Connect uses a database for tracking relationships of items and once information has been fully migrated to the new system, any changes back to prior configurations may cause duplication of data.

Note: For the stand-alone installation, the Connect.xml file must be in-place before starting the service. The migration occurs only once. If a Connect.xml file is not there then the default is migrated.

Users upgrading Micro Focus Connect from a prior release should install the new product on a new system. Once installed they should stop the system service Micro Focus Connect Web Server), remove the AppData/data/db directory and replace the AppData/data/Connect.xml file with their Connect.xml file from their prior release, and restart the system service.