Upgrading from previous releases

This topic includes steps you need to perform if you are upgrading from a previous version.

Stop Micro Focus Connect

Before upgrading , you should first stop any connections that are running in your existing installation. The updated version of uses a database for tracking relationships of items and once information has been fully migrated to the new system, any changes back to prior configurations may cause duplication of data.

For the stand-alone installation, the Connect.xml file must be in-place before starting the service. The migration occurs only once. If a Connect.xml file is not there then the default is migrated.

Install on a separate server

Upgrading to versions 4.3 or higher: The installer upgrades the existing deployment. Skip this section.

Upgrading to versions 4.0-4.2: Install the new version on a new system. See Installing [%=_rscC_Basic_Variables._rsc_Product_Name%].

After installing the new version:

  1. Stop the system service Web Server.
  2. Remove the AppData/data/db directory.
  3. Replace the AppData/data/Connect.xml file with their Connect.xml file from their prior release.
  4. Restart the system service.