Pre-Cleanup

Before running the execution history cleanup, consider the following:

  • While running, execution history cleanup can effect Deployment Automation performance and could result in process execution delays. Therefore, the cleanup should be planned ahead of time and run at a low or no activity time.
  • To avoid causing confusion when execution history data has been deleted, you should notify users to let them know when the cleanup is being run.
  • Backup your Deployment Automation database in case of system failure while the cleanup is running.

Before running the execution history cleanup, you must ensure the proper permissions are set as follows:

  • In Administration > Security > Role Configuration > Web UI, ensure that the Clean Execution History permission is selected for the role who will run the cleanup, such as Admin, for each of the following product areas:

    • Web UI
    • Applications
    • Environments
  • Ensure that the users or groups who will run the cleanup have membership in the role.

See Role Configuration.

Note: In Administration > Security > Default Permissions, you can set Clean Execution History permission for All Users Permissions and Groups Permissions. This will cause this permission to be set whenever new users or groups are created. However, since the cleanup should be run only by select users in a controlled situation, you should not typically add this permission as a default.