Maintaining Versions Externally

If you deselect Copy to CodeStation for a component, this tells Deployment Automation to maintain the full versions for that component only in the integrating source configuration tool.

If you do this, the version management for the component is limited as follows:

  • In the Versions > Artifacts page, you cannot download individual version artifacts; to download them, you must download them all using the Download All button.
  • Version information is obtained only during the version import. If anyone modifies the artifact version in the source configuration tool, metadata stored about that version is not updated in CodeStation.
  • If you change connection parameters to external systems, this may affect the ability to download existing versions. For example, if credentials to a Dimensions CM server have changed or a file share location has been moved, the metadata stored for existing versions will not have the updated information.

    To mitigate this, if you want to download an earlier version, edit the component details and deselect Use Latest Component Properties for Version Download. By selecting or deselecting this setting before downloading, you can download versions from the current or original location, based on the component property settings. If you have changed the repository or connection parameters more than once between imports, you may not be able to download some versions.

    Caution: If you modify the source folder, you will not be able to download it again. The download procedure now strictly verifies that the content matches what was originally imported, including file set and size of the files.

To ensure better performance, versions that are not stored in CodeStation are cached in local storage in the server profile. By default, versions are kept in local storage for 24 hours, and then deleted. When a new download request is initiated, the server checks local storage first and provides the content from there if it is found. Otherwise, the server downloads the version and puts it in local storage. If needed, you can change the cache time as follows:

  1. Navigate to your Deployment Automation server profile directory. For example: C:\Users\username\.microfocus\da\conf\server

    or

    /opt/MicroFocus/da/username/.microfocus/da/conf/server

  2. Modify the da_config.xml to set the scheduledTimeInHRS property to the time you want the local storage cache to be retained. For example:
    <versionCacheCleanUpConfig>
        <scheduledTimeInHRS>12</scheduledTimeInHRS>
    </versionCacheCleanUpConfig>                   

If you decide to select Copy to CodeStation after previously deselecting, Deployment Automation begins copying the full version into CodeStation. The inventory maintains its integrity.

Related Topics

Creating Components

Managing External Source Configuration Types