Rules of deployment history cleanup

Review the following rules to understand how deployment history cleanups work.

To run a deployment history cleanup, ensure that you have the Clean Deployment History permission through your role for the following product areas:

Web UI To run the Deployment History Cleanup action.
Applications To clean up process requests for specific applications.
Environments To clean up process requests for specific environments.

Note: The Deployment History Cleanup action is available by default only for the root administrative user defined in your installation.

When cleaning up deployment history, you remove process request data for applications and environments. You can run multiple cleanups with overlapping cleanup periods and scopes if needed.

The following information is removed for process requests:

  • Logs

  • Attachments
  • Approvals
  • Workflow traces
  • Tasks
  • Basic process requests
  • Deployment process requests for application process requests (not deleted if the deployment process request has more than one application process request)
  • Pipeline execution requests
  • Process request property contexts
  • Process request property sheets

    Note: You have an option to clean up only the logs for component processes, keeping the rest of deployment history. For details, see Run deployment history cleanup.

A deployment history cleanup request will not delete any history in the following situations:

  • If a process request has not started yet.
  • If a process request is currently running.
  • If a process request is waiting for approval.
  • If an application process request has at least one component process request that is part of the resource inventory.
  • If a standalone component process request is part of the resource inventory.
  • If an application process request is part of the latest desired inventory.
  • If no environments are associated with the applications selected for the cleanup, and vise versa.

A cleanup request is initiated for each process request to be cleaned up. If a cleanup request cannot be completed for any reason, the data is rolled back to its original state for that particular cleanup request.

Note: By default, a sweep job automatically runs at set intervals to cancel cleanup requests that have stopped responding. You can configure the settings for the sweep, including whether to run the job at all. For details, refer to Knowledge Base item S141764.

For scheduled cleanups, Deployment Automation might not finish clearing all the data until the cleanup time runs out. In such situations, the cleanup will complete with the Timed out status.

Back to top

Next steps: