Check out files

When you check out a file, a writable copy of the latest revision is placed in the workfile location and assigned the next revision number.

Check out one or more files

You do not need to check out individual files if you are working with Dimensions CM streams, or if your organization follows an optimistic locking model.

To check out a previous file version, you must select the specific revision using the file history.

Note: If you are logged in to your system as the root user, files that you check out are read-only. Manually make the files writable before you can work on them.

To check out files:

  1. In Eclipse, right-click the files and select Team > Checkout.

    The Checkout dialog box displays a list of selected files to be checked out.

    Note: The project file contains information about the project. Even if you do not explicitly check out this file, Eclipse may silently make this file writable to note the changes to the project. You must share the project to activate the checkout command.

  1. Select or clear which files to check out.

    Or select from available options in the Options tab. For example, change the value to Prompt for Overwrite modified files. This way, Eclipse prompts you if the file in your local workspace is different from the file retrieved from the Dimensions CM repository.

    Click Next.

  1. If you are prompted to relate requests to the files you are checking out, select the requests from the My Inbox or My Working List tabs. Click Next.

  2. In the Relate Requests panel, select the Dimensions CM requests to relate to the item during the check out operation. The items are grouped by type, allowing you to easily relate requests to multiple items with similar types.

    By default, only those requests that can be used are displayed. If you choose the Show All option, the unavailable requests appear in italics and the Details column provides information on why they cannot be used.

  3. In the New Item Revision Attributes panel, set the Dimensions CM attributes for the items that you are checking out.

    The attributes are grouped by type. To copy attributes, right-click and select from the resulting menu.

  4. Click Finish.

    On successful completion, a checkmark is displayed next to each file icon to indicate that the files are checked out.

Back to top

Undo a checkout

When you undo a checkout, the lock and the revision number created during checkout is released. No changes are checked in to the Dimensions CM repository.

To undo a checkout:

  1. Right-click the checked out files, and select Team > Undo Checkout. The Undo Checkout dialog box opens with a list of selected files.

  2. In the Checkout panel, select or clear which files to act on.

    Or select from available options in the Options tab. For example, for Local contents, change the value to Replace with Latest Revision. This overwrites the file in the local workspace with the latest revision in the Dimensions CM repository.

  3. Click Finish.

Back to top

Access a previous revision

You can check out a previous file revision instead of the latest revision.

To access a previous revision:

  1. Right-click the file and select Team > Show History.

  2. From the Item Revision History view, select the revision you want.

Back to top

See also: