Synchronize with a Dimensions CM repository

Synchronization enables you to verify that the files in your local workspace match the files in the Dimensions CM repository.

About synchronization

In a multi-user environment, synchronizing your workspace assists you with:

  • Removing files from your local workspace that other users have removed from the source control project.

  • Adding files to your local workspace that other users have added to the source control project.

  • Adding files to the source control project that you have added to your local workspace.

  • Updating the content of files in your local workspace that other users have modified and checked into the source control project.

  • Committing the changes that you have made in your local workspace to the source control project.

Synchronization marks which files have been changed, inserted, moved, renamed, or deleted. You can resolve the discrepancies by importing changes to your local workspace, merging the different files, or committing the changed files into source control. Your changed files are either checked in or optimistically updated, which means that they are checked in without being checked out first.

If the repository revision of the file to be checked in has been changed by someone else, you will be required to merge the files to your local workspace, and then check in the merged file.

Dimensions CM for Eclipse uses metadata to determine if folders or files have been moved or renamed. You can commit these changes to source control from the synchronize view.

Back to top

Synchronize workspace with a Dimensions CM repository

The Synchronize with Repository command compares the local workspace to the repository and lists all incoming and outgoing changes, including updates, deletions, and conflicting changes. Conflicting changes are when both the local file and the repository file have been changed.

You can resolve the discrepancies by importing changes to your local workspace, merging the different files, or committing the changed files into source control.

Note: Full synchronization is supported only for projects.

To synchronize your workspace with source control:

  1. Select the projects that you want to synchronize with the Dimensions CM repository.

  2. Right-click and select Team > Synchronize with Repository. The Team Synchronizing perspective opens.

  3. Use the features in the Team Synchronizing view to evaluate the files that differ from source control, and choose whether to synchronize, check in, or merge the changed files. This view displays file status that you can use to decide how to act on specific files. For example, this view identifies foreign items, which are files that are related to items in a different project or stream.

Note: If you are using the Wind River Workbench product, the Hierarchy of the Wind River projects will be used to determine the set of Eclipse projects to synchronize.

Back to top

Team synchronize view in Eclipse

The Team Synchronize view displays when you select Synchronize with Repository. The Synchronize view allows you to inspect the differences between the local Workbench resources and their remote counterparts, as well as update resources in the local Workbench or commit changes/resources from the local Workbench to the Dimensions CM repository.

The Team Synchronize view has a set of features that help you perform the synchronization with the repository:

Feature Description
Commit moves Updates the Dimensions CM repository with information from files which have been moved or renamed.
Synchronization states Displays the state of resources in your local workspace compared to those residing the Dimensions CM repository.
Modes The different synchronization modes (Incoming, Outgoing, Incoming/ Outgoing, Conflicts) enable you to filter the differences, helping you to find the differences to be resolved based on your company's work flow.
Conflict handling

You can merge conflicting resources (instead of overwriting) using Team Synchronization by performing either an update or a compare.

You must use a Compare editor to compare and resolve conflicts. To open a Compare editor, select Open in Compare Editor from the context menu. The Compare editor enables you to manually resolve conflicts. Then you perform a Mark as Merged on the conflict to indicate that you are done. This will change the conflict into an outgoing change.

Back to top

See also: