Work with files in local mode

Local mode enables you to work with files in a Dimensions CM project without checking them out first.

Use local mode with optimistic locking

When you are working with Dimensions CM projects, you can edit files without checking them out from source control by working on them in local mode. Local mode can be enabled for individual files, unlike offline mode which affects the entire workspace.

Note: You can enable local mode at the project level, which places all the files in the project into local mode. The project itself cannot be in local mode.

You can use local mode with a pessimistic locking environment to work on files without checking them out, and directly check in the updated files.

Local mode does not apply to Dimensions CM streams.

If you place files in local mode and fetch newer revisions of the files from the repository, the newer revisions are not placed into local mode automatically.

Back to top

Put files into local mode

You can apply local mode to selected files and projects.

To change files to local mode:

  1. Do one of the following:

    • Select the projects or files that you want to work on in local mode, and select Team > Local Mode from the context menu.

    • Open a file and attempt to edit it in the editor. You are prompted to either check out the file or make it local.

      The default option is Make Local. To prevent this dialog box from opening in the future and keep the file local, select Don't ask me again.

      Note: You can change your default setting in the Preferences tab: Window > Preferences > Team > Dimensions CM > Version Management > File Modification.

      The local mode icon is added to the icons of the selected files.

  1. If your business processes support optimistic locking, check in the files after making the edits in local mode by selecting Team > Checkin.

    The new file revision is placed at the tip (latest revision) of the default working branch.

Back to top

Revert local mode files to controlled mode

Note: If your business processes support an optimistic locking approach, you can choose to directly check in the files after making the edits in local mode, instead of using the revert to control command.

To revert files to controlled mode:

  1. In the Package Explorer or Navigator, select the local mode projects or files you want to revert to controlled mode, and right-click.

  2. In the menu that opens, select Team > Revert Controlled. The file is marked as read-only.

  3. Use the Team > Synchronize with Repository command to commit your changes to the repository.

Back to top

See also: