Set the tip conflict options

Set the tip conflict options to determine what action Dimensions CM takes when you check in items that have conflicting item revisions.

To set the tip conflict options:

  1. In the desktop client, select Tools > Preferences.

  2. In the Preferences dialog box, select the Tip Conflict Options tab.
  3. Specify the following options:

    Option Description
    Check for tip conflicts when checking-in or updating items.

    Select this option to perform a check for branch conflicts when you attempt to check in or update an item.

    Note: If the DM_DISABLE_BRANCH_CHECKINS parameter has been set in the dm.cfg file, this option will be preselected and locked. For details on how to set this parameter, see Administration.

    Merge conflicts with my changes and check-in/update the item.

    Select this option to invoke the PVCS Merge Tool. The files will be merged to a temporary file and the temporary file will be used for the check-in.

    Select Update my local workfile content after merging to have the files in your work area overwritten with the resulting temporary merged file after completing the merge. If this option is not set, the files in your work area will remain as they were before the check-in/update, and the temporary file will be discarded after the check-in.

    Merge conflicts with my workfiles, I’ll check-in/update the item later.

    Select this option to invoke the default merge tool and have the merged file overwrite the file in your work area, but not be checked in to the repository. This enables you to carry on working with this merged file.

    If you attempt to check in or update the file later, the local metatada will record that a merge was performed. Dimensions CM will check for any subsequent changes in the repository, and check in or update the merged file (without invoking the default merge tool). If there are changes in the repository, the legacy Merge Tool is invoked.

    Do not perform an interactive merge but check-in/update my changes as the tip. Select this option to check in the version of the file in your work area as the tip revision without invoking the default merge tool.
    Ignore the conflict and continue with the check-in/update.

    Select this option to check in the version of the file in your work area as a branch revision without invoking the default merge tool.

    Note: If the DM_DISABLE_BRANCH_CHECKINS parameter has been set in the dm.cfg file, this option is not displayed. For details, see Administration.

    Perform merge silently Select this option if you do not want the merge tool to be displayed when there are no conflicting lines in the merged files.
    Keep backups made of my workfile(s) prior to merging.

    Select this option to create a backup of your workfile when the content of the workfile is overwritten as a result of the merge process.

    The backup copy has the original filename appended with the string ".premerge_<date_time>. For example, the backup for bonus_spec.doc might be bonus_spec.doc.premerge_2007081611_115203.

    Backup copies are created in your temporary file location and will remain there until removed.

    On check-in/update, assume the settings above and do not show the warning dialog.

    Select this option if you do not want the Tip Conflicts dialog box to be displayed when a conflict is detected.

    Leave the option cleared to have the Tip Conflicts dialog box displayed when a tip conflict is detected, which enables to change the options listed under If conflicts are detected, default to.

  4. Click OK.

Back to top

See also: