Set miscellaneous options

Miscellaneous preferences enable you to determine the default behavior of the desktop client when you perform various actions.

To set the miscellaneous options:

  1. In the desktop client, select Tools > Preferences.

  2. In the Preferences dialog box, select the Miscellaneous tab.

  3. Set the General options:

    Auto refresh Select this option if you want the desktop client to refresh all the desktop client displays when a command-line operation has been completed.
    Save current filter set automatically Select this option if you want the client to retain the filter set you have selected when you click OK or the Find Now tab.
     Append multi-valued attributes Select this option if you want values that you enter in multi-valued attributes to be added to the existing values. If you do not select this option, any values entered for a multi-valued attribute will completely replace the existing values each time you perform an edit.
  4. To set the default in the Delegate Request dialog box to also delegate related items, select Delegate Related Items Automatically. This means that when you delegate a request, its related items will also be delegated by default. You will still be able to override this, however.

  5. To determine when to display the Relationships dialog box during drag & drop operations, set the following options:

    Perform operations silently if no user input is required (Default) Use this option if you want the client to display the Relationships dialog box only when there is further information required if you relate objects by using drag & drop.
    Always enable user input Select this option if you want the client to always display the Relationships dialog box when you relate objects using drag & drop.
  6. To automatically set new item project filenames to the filename in your work area, leave the option Automatically map User File to Project File selected. This enables the Create Item dialog box to populate the project filename based on the user filename.

  7. To automatically overwrite files during get or check out operations, select Automatically Overwrite Files. This way, files that do not have the read-only permissions will be overwritten by the get and check out operations.

    If you leave this option cleared, existing writable files cannot be overwritten. You can still override this behavior in the Check Out and Get Item dialog boxes.

    Note: If a file has read-only permissions, it will always be overwritten regardless of this setting.

  8. To automatically relate your new requests to the current project, leave the option New requests to be addressed in current project selected.

    If you clear this option, new requests will not be related to any project/stream by default.

  9. Click OK.

Back to top

See also: