Review changes when updating, delivering, merging, or shelving items

When you update, deliver, merge, or shelve items, you can:

  • Review the changes to be applied when you are updating a work area or merging streams via a work area.

  • Change the default resolutions.

  • Resolve conflicts. You can select a resolution from the toolbar, or right-click and select a resolution.

The following table describes the actions for reviewing changes:

Toolbar icon or context menu option Description
Previous Difference Select the previous item that has a difference.
Next Difference Select the next item that has a difference.
Previous Unresolved Conflict Select the previous item that has a conflict where no resolution has been selected.
Next Unresolved Conflict Select the next item that has a conflict where no resolution has been selected.

Compare

Open your default file merge tool and compare the item in the work area with the item in the repository.

History

Display the history of the selected item.

Pedigree

Display the pedigree of the selected item.

Hide Ignored

Hide changes that have the resolution Ignored.

Accept

Accept this item so that it will be updated or merged.

Ignore

Ignore the item so that it is not updated or merged.

Merge

Open your default file merge tool and merge the item in the work area with the item in the stream.

Use local

Use the version of the selected item or folder in the work area.

Use repository

Use the version of the selected item or folder in the stream.

Use local path

Use the path of the selected item or folder that corresponds to the work area.

Use repository path

Use the path of the selected item or folder that corresponds to the source of the merge or update in the repository.

When you select an item, the following information is displayed in the Properties pane:

  • Changes details for <selected item>. The type of change and a description.

  • Resolution. The default way to resolve the change, for example, Accept. To change the resolution, select it and choose another one from the list.

  • Local. The specification and owner of the item in the work area.

  • Repository. The specification and owner of the item in the repository.

After a successful merge, you are prompted to deliver the files to the repository. For details, see Deliver changes to streams.

Back to top

See also: