Undo changes in streams

You can roll back the delivery of files and folders to a stream.

For example, you deliver changes but discover problems in the code and decide to remove the changes. Undo creates a new changeset with the reverted changes that preserves the full history.

Considerations:

  • Requires the same privileges as deliver.

  • Undoes an entire changeset, not individual item revisions.

  • The original request relationships are not undone.

  • Only makes changes in a repository and does not affect the items in a work area.

  • After completing an undo, to synchronize your work area with the repository, run an update.

  • You can run undo at any location as long as the changeset does not affect items further up the hierarchy.

Limitations:

  • Can only undo a single changeset.

  • If items in a changeset have more recent changes in a newer changeset, you cannot undo it.

Example: Assume that changeset 14 has this item revision: f.txt revision #2

And that changeset 13 has the previous version of the same item: f.txt revision #1

If you undo changeset 14, the revision in changeset 13 becomes the tip revision and a new changeset, 15, is created with the change:

f.txt revision #1

To undo changes:

  1. Desktop client:

    • To undo an entire changeset, from the Stream or Project menu, select Changesets

    • To undo a specific set of changes, select a folder. Right-click and select Folder Changesets.

    Windows Explorer integration: Select a folder where you want to undo changes. Right-click and select Dimensions > Changesets.

  2. In the Changesets dialog box, right-click a changeset and select Undo Stream/Project Version.

  3. (Optional) Select requests to relate to the change and add a comment.

  4. Click OK.

Back to top

See also: