Shelve changes to a topic stream

Shelving enables you to store local changes in a personal stream in a repository and optionally remove the changes from a work area.

For details about shelving guidelines, see Shelve your personal changes.

To shelve changes to a topic stream:

  1. Desktop client: Open a stream, and select Stream > Shelve.

    Windows Explorer: Right-click the root folder of the stream, or a subfolder, and select Dimensions > Shelve. The Shelve wizard opens.

  2. In the Shelve wizard, specify the following details:

    Field Description

    Topic stream name

    Enter a name for the topic stream to be created. Default:

    <username>_<parent stream ID>

    Unique branch name

    Enter a unique branch name for the topic stream. Default:

    <username>_<parent stream ID>

    Description (Optional) Change the default description of the topic stream.

    After shelving is complete

    Select options to be applied after the shelving operation completes:

    • Reset the work area to the latest stream content.

    • Rehome the work area and associate it with the topic stream. For details, see Rehome work areas.

    • Desktop client only: Specify a different work area for the topic stream.

    • Desktop client only: Add the topic stream to favorites.

    Add the new stream my favorites (Optional) Add the new topic stream to your list of favorite streams.
  3. Click Next. The Shelve wizard displays the work area you are shelving from, and the topic stream where your changes will be shelved to. You can select a different work area.
  4. (Optional) Set advanced options:

    Field Description
    Include local folders Enter an expression to specify files and folders in the work area that you want to include in the topic stream. For details, see Include and exclude files and folders.
    Exclude local files Enter an expression to exclude specific files and folders in the work area from the topic stream. For details, see Include and exclude files and folders.
    Include Select the local changes to include in the delivery: additions, deletions, modifications, and moves/renames.
    Ignore rules If you have defined ignore rules but want to skip them, select Disable restrictions from .dmignore files for this delivery.
    Skip summary before synchronization Select this option if you don't want to review the summary of the shelving actions before you start shelving.
    Close wizard on completion Select this option to automatically close the wizard after shelving.
  5. Click Next, review the summary, and click Shelve.

    If you selected to skip the summary page, click Shelve.

  6. If you selected to reset the work area, click Reset. The Update wizard opens. The stream to be used for the update is the same one that is associated with the work area. In the Advanced section, the following options are selected by default:

    • Reset work area changes to repository versions and paths.

    • Delete locally added files, such as files added by a local build process.

      To reset the work area, complete the Update wizard. For details, see Update work areas from streams.

Back to top

See also: