Check in an item

Check in an item revision when you have finished editing it and want to update Dimensions CM.

Note: This operation is not available for items in a stream.

PRIVILEGES: Revise Item Content.

To check in an item:

  1. In an Items list, select one or more checked out item revisions.

    If you select multiple items, you cannot change item attributes or status.

  2. Select Item | Check In, or click the Check In Item button.

  3. In the Comment field, enter a description of the changes you made.

  4. To set attributes, click the Attributes tab and enter or select values.

    Attributes in bold are required. Attributes in italics cannot be modified.

  5. Click OK.

    If Dimensions CM has determined that there are other item revisions needed to be merged with your changes, the Tip Conflicts dialog box may open. This happens if:

    • Your administrator has set the option DM_DISABLE_BRANCH_CHECKINS in the dm.cfg server configuration file. For details, see Administration.

    and/or

    • You have set the option Check for tip conflicts when checking-in or updating items in Tools | Preferences | Tip Conflict Options. See Set the tip conflict options.

    Select the option to complete the merge:

    Option Description
    Merge my changes and check in now.

    Select this option to invoke the Merge Tool and for the merged file(s) to be saved to a temporary file, and for the temporary file to be used for the check in.

    Select Update my local workfile content after merging to have the files in your work area overwritten with the resulting temporary merged file after completing the merge. If this option is not set, the files in your work area will remain as they were before the check in/update and the temporary file will be discarded once the check in is complete.

    Merge with my workfiles, and check in later.

    Select this option to invoke the default merge tool and have the merged file overwrite the file in your work area, but not be checked in to the repository, enabling you to carry on working with this merged file.

    If you attempt to check in or revise the file later, the local metatada will have recorded that a merge was performed. Dimensions CM will check whether there have been any subsequent changes in the repository, and if not, check in or revise the merged file (without invoking the default merge tool). If there have been changes in the repository, the Merge Tool will be invoked.

    Do not perform an interactive merge but check in my changes as the tip. Select this option to check in the version of the file in your work area as the tip revision without invoking the default merge tool.
    Ignore the conflict and continue with the check-in.

    Select this option to check in the version of the file in your work area as a branch revision without invoking the default merge tool.

    Note: This option does not appear if your administrator has set the symbol DM_DISABLE_BRANCH_CHECKINS in the dm.cfg file.

    Don’t show this message again; always assume my current selection. Select this option if you do not want this dialog box to be displayed again. You can subsequently change the options in this dialog box by selecting Tools | Preferences | Tip Conflict Options, and you can also re-enable the display of this dialog box.
  6. Click OK.

Depending on the selected options, you may be presented with the default merge tool. See Use merge tools.

If you have selected multiple items, and Dimensions CM subsequently detects that another merge is required, the specified action will be taken again, and you will not be presented with the Tip Conflicts dialog box.

Back to top

See also: