Revise Item/Revise Multiple Items dialog box

Use this dialog box to replace one or more item revisions with the contents of files in your work area.

For a single selection, use the General tab to enter information about the item and its status.

For a single selection, see Attributes tab/page to view and change the user-defined attributes of an item.

General tab

Field Description Rules and guidelines

Item specification

The specification of the selected item.

Single item selected only.

Items

The specification of the selected items.

Multiple items selected only.

Click an item to clear it.

New named branch

Accept or select a named branch for the new revision.

Single item selected only.

New revision

Accept the revision ID, or enter a different one.

Single item selected only.

Revision IDs are allocated according to your process model rules.

Revise item using workfile

Enter the name of the file from which to revise the selected item.

Single item selected only.

The default is the item project filename. To revise the item from a different file, enter a full or relative pathname, or click the Browse button to find it.

If you browse for an item that is on a remote node and you need to log in, the Login to remote file node dialog box opens.

Comment to apply to all items

Enter a comment or description.

Multiple items selected only.

Request ID

Enter the name of one or more requests, or click the Browse button to find them.

Single item selected only.

Your process model may require you to specify a request.

Request(s)

Enter the name of one or more requests, or click the Browse button to find them.

Multiple items selected only.

Your process model may require you to specify a request.

Status

Select a status to associate with the revised item.

Single item selected only.

Keep copy in user area

Select to leave the existing file copy in the work area.

Mutually exclusive with Automatic Get.

After item checked in

Select an option from this list to specify what happens to the file in your work area after you check it in to Dimensions CM.

  • To keep the file, select Keep original workfile unchanged.

  • To delete the file, select Delete original workfile.

  • To delete the file and immediately get a copy of it from Dimensions CM, select Automatic get, original workfile set read-only. You might choose this option if the item has header substitution variables that you want to be inserted in the file in your work area.

Comment

Enter a description of the revise.

Single item selected only.

Your process model may require you to enter a description.

Back to top

See also: