Revise an item

Revise an item when you want to create a new revision using the contents of a file in your work area.

Similar to the Edit command, you do not need to check out the item. When you revise an item, the revision ID is changed according to your process model rules.

Note: This operation is not available for items in a stream.

Your process model may require you to relate a request to the revised item.

PRIVILEGES: Revise Item Content.

To revise an item:

  1. In an Items list, select one or more items.

  2. You can select multiple items. If you do, you cannot change item attributes or edit certain other item properties, such as the branch and revision.

  3. Select Item > Revise.

  4. For Revise item using workfile, enter the pathname of the file or folder you want to use as the source, or click the browse button to find it.

  5. If required, in the Request ID field, type the name of a related request, or click the browse button use the Find dialog box.

  6. If required, enter the reason for the item revise.

  7. Click OK.

If Dimensions CM has determined that there are other revisions of the item that need to be merged with your changes, you may be presented with a Tip Conflicts dialog box. This will happen if:

  • Your administrator has set the option DM_DISABLE_BRANCH_CHECKINSin the dm.cfg file for the Dimensions CM server. For details, see Administration.

and/or

  • You have set the option Check for tip conflicts when checking-in or updating items in Tools | Preferences | Tip Conflict Options. SeeSet the tip conflict options.

Select the option you require on completing the merge:

  • Select Merge my changes and check-in now to invoke the Merge Tool and for the merged file(s) to be saved to a temporary file, and for the temporary file to be used for the revise.

Select Update my local workfile content after merging to have the files in your work area overwritten with the resulting temporary merged file after completing the merge. If this option is not set, the files in your work area will remain as they were before the revise and the temporary file will be discarded once the revise is complete.

  • Select Merge with my workfiles, and check-in later to invoke the default merge tool and have the merged file overwrite the file in your work area, but not be checked in to the repository, enabling you to carry on working with this merged file.

If you attempt to check in or revise the file later, the local metatada will have recorded that a merge was performed. Dimensions CM will check whether there have been any subsequent changes in the repository, and if not, and check in or revise the merged file (without invoking the default merge tool). If there have been changes in the repository, the Merge Tool will be invoked.

  • Select Do not perform an interactive merge but check-in my changes as the tip to check in the version of the file in your work area as the tip revision without invoking the default merge tool.

  • Select Ignore the conflict and continue with the check-in to check in the version of the file in your work area as a branch revision without invoking the default merge tool.

Note: This option does not appear if your administrator has set the symbol DM_FORCE_MERGE in the dm.cfg file. For details, see Administration.

  • Select Don’t show this message again; always assume my current selection, if you do not want this dialog box to be displayed again. You can subsequently change the options in this dialog box by selecting Tools | Preferences | Tip Conflict Options, and you can also re-enable the display of this dialog box.

Click OK.

Depending on the options you have previously selected, you may be presented with the default merge tool.

On completion of the merge the action specified will be taken.

If you have selected multiple items, and Dimensions CM subsequently detects that another merge is required, the specified action will be taken again, and you will not be presented with the Tip Conflicts dialog box.

Back to top

See also: