Review a change in the Synchronize wizard

Review a change in the Synchronize wizard when you want to change the resolution that the Synchronize wizard has determined for the change. If there is a conflict between two file versions, you can decide which version to use and how to merge the contents.

To review a change in the Synchronize wizard:

  1. Select a file or folder for which there is a change or conflict. This will have an entry under the Change Type column, and its icon is something other than  for a file, or for a folder.

    Note: A folder rename is interpreted as an addition and a deletion.

    • Click the filename or file icon to select a file.

    • To move to the next file where there is a difference, click the Next Difference button .

    • To move to the previous file where there is a difference, click the Previous Difference button.

    • To move to the next file where there is an unresolved conflict, click the Next Unresolved Conflict button .

    • To move to the previous file where there is an unresolved conflict, click the Previous Unresolved Conflict button .

    • To view the item history for a file, right-click the file and select History. The item History dialog is displayed.

    • Click the Details tab below, to view a description of the change. The current resolution is displayed in the Resolution column in the tree against the file or folder.

  2. The Resolutions column shows the resolution that the Synchronize wizard has chosen. Other possible resolutions that you can choose are represented by buttons in the toolbar. The buttons that are available depend on the change type. If you wish, click the appropriate button to select another resolution.

    • To ignore the file or folder, for example, exclude it from the synchronization, click the Ignore button .

    • To use the version of the file or folder from the work area, click the Use Local button .

    • To use the version of the file or folder from the repository, click the Use Repository button .

      Caution: When selecting the Use local or Use Repository options, be aware of the implications of the action. Choosing one or the other could cause you to discard a change that you have made when you did not intend to.

      Your selection is then displayed in the Resolution column in the tree.

      To compare the content of a file with the item in the repository, click the Compare button . By default, this will launch the default merge tool to compare the contents. See Use merge tools, or access the online help from this tool.

      You can configure other merge tools to be used with Dimensions CM. For details, see the Administration.

      If the change type is Conflict, and you want to merge the content of the two files that are in conflict, click the Merge button . If a conflict exists in the file content, this will launch the file merge tool in merge mode.

      Note: When certain types of conflict occur relating to a move and modification, you may be presented with an Accept option with the options:

      • Rename and modification

      • Just the modification

  3. Under Options, the fields are displayed according to the change type and whether the action will result in the file deliver or update. Accept the defaults or, optionally, enter or change the values:

    • Comment. If the synchronization requires updates to the repository, you might need to enter a comment for any new item revisions that are created if your process model requires this.
    • Requests. If your process model requires you to enter a request when creating new item revisions, enter one or more requests in this field.

      Note: You cannot check out an item in response to a request if the request is above the initial stage in the Global Stage Lifecycle.

    • Item Specification. The item specification for a new item.
    • Item type. The item type for a new item. If you want to choose a different item type, click the field and select one from the drop-down list.

    • Format. Enter a file format for a new item.

    • Design Part for new files. The part specification for the owning design part to be used for a new item.

    • New Revision. To change the default branch and revision for a new item revision, enter it in this field.

    • Permissions after update. If the file is being updated in the work area, select the permissions it will be given.

    • Permissions after deliver. If the file is being delivered to the repository, select the permissions it will have after the deliver.

Back to top

See also: