Synchronize wizard

Use the Synchronize wizard to:

  • Update a work area from a project.

  • Deliver changes in a work area to a project.

  • Report the changes made to a local work area.

  • Synchronize a work area and a project.

Field Description Rules and guidelines
  • Synchronize with

  • Deliver to

  • Update from

  • Compare with

Select a project or stream in the repository.

 

Include the following types of local changes

Select or clear the types of change in the work area that you want to include.

If you clear a change enter the resolution Ignore is applied.

Include the following types of repository changes

Select or clear the types of change in the repository that you want to include.

Include local folders

Enter an expression to specify folders in the work area that you want to explicitly include.

  • * is a wildcard character that matches any number of characters.

  • ? matches any single character.

  • | joins or concatenates multiple expressions.

  • \ is a separator for folders and directories (Windows and UNIX).

Exclude local files

Enter an expression to specify files in the work area that you want to explicitly exclude.

Use the wildcards described earlier.

Include repository folders

Enter an expression to specify folders in the repository that you want to explicitly include.

Exclude repository files

Enter an expression to specify files in the repository that you want to be to explicitly exclude.

Auto merge non-conflicting file content

Automatically merge files that don't have conflicts. You can also select a default character set that is used to transcode Unicode files before merging.

 

Also include items related to child requests

Merges all items that are related to child requests of the selected change requests.

Applicable only if you are updating from a request.

If a related Item has a different path/filename from the one in the Work Area then:

Select an action to be taken when there is a difference between the path/filename for the file in the work area and the request’s related item.

Applicable only if you are updating from a request. Select:

  • Display as a conflict if you want the item to appear as a conflict on the changes page, allowing you to choose which version to accept.

  • Use Work Area path/filename if you want the path/filename from the work area to be used. If there is a modification for this file, this just accepts the modification and not the path/filename change.

  • Use related Item path/filename if you want the path/filename from the request’s related item to be used.

Skip summary before synchronization

Select this option to skip the Summary page describing the actions to be performed.

 

Close wizard on completion

Select this option to exit the Synchronize wizard on completion.

 

Enable in folder

If you need an output log with the synchronization results, select this option.

To change the default folder for the logs, use the browse button to select another folder.

 

Back to top

See also: