Synchronize wizard Changes page

Use the Synchronize wizard when you want to update a work area, the corresponding Dimensions project/stream, or both the work area and a project to contain the latest versions of the item files.

Use the Changes page of the Synchronize wizard to review the changes between the work area and the project/stream, override default selections made by the Synchronize wizard, and resolve any conflicts.

Field Description Rules and guidelines

Toolbar

 

 

previous_difference_button.gif

Previous Difference button.

Click this button to select the previous item file where there is a difference.

next_difference_button.gif

Next Difference button.

Click this button to select the next item file where there is a difference.

previous_conflict_button.gif

Previous unresolved conflict button.

Click this button to select the previous item file that has a conflict where no resolution has been selected.

next_conflict_button.gif

Next unresolved conflict button.

Click this button to select the next item file that has a conflict where no resolution has been selected.

compare_button.gif

Compare button.

Click this button to launch the file merge tool to compare the file in the work area with the item file in the repository.

hide_unchanged_button.gif

Hide Unchanged button

Click this button to unhide item files that have a Change Type of Unchanged.

hide_ignored_button.gif

Hide Ignored button

Click this button to unhide item files that have a Resolution of Ignored.

repository_view_button.gif

Repository view button

Click this button to show only the item files in the repository.

work_area_view_button.gif

Work area view button

Click this button to show only the item files in the work area.

consolidated_view_button.gif

Consolidated view button

Click this button to show the item files in the repository and in the work area.

file_merge_button.gif

Merge button.

Click this button to launch the file merge tool to merge the file in the work area with the item file in the repository.

Note: When certain types of conflict occur relating to a move and modification, you may be presented with an Accept option with the options:

  • Rename and modification

  • Just the modification.

ignore_button.gif

Ignore button

Click this button if you want to ignore the selected file or folder so that it is not included in the synchronization.

use_local_button.gif

Use Local button

Click this button if you want to use the version of the selected file or folder from the work area.

use_repository_button.gif

Use Repository button

Click this button if you want to use the version of the selected file or folder from the repository.

Files and Folders Area

Filename

Icon and filename

 

Change type

A description of the type of change between the work area and the repository.

There are changes in this folder or some of its subfolders.

Resolution

The currently chosen action to be taken for the change.

 

Changed in

Whether the change is in the work area or repository.

Only appears if Consolidated View is selected.

Original Filename

If the name of the file has changed, the original filename.

 

Defaults tab   Use this tab to specify default options to be used for items/files

Comment for check-in

A comment to be used if a new item revision is being created in the repository.

 

Relate to request(s)

One or mor requests to be used to relate In Response To new item revisions being created in the repository.

  • Use the browse button to select the request(s).

  • <Use default> means your default request for the project/stream will be used.

Permissions after update

The permission to be given to files after they have been copied to the work area. Choose between Make read only and Make writable.

 

Design part for new files.

The part specification for the owning design part for new items created in the repository

  • Use the browse button to select the design part.

  • <Use default>  means the default design part for the project/stream will be used.

Permissions after Deliver

The permission to be given to the file in the work area after it has been delivered to the repository.

Choose between Make read only and Keep unchanged.

 

Apply date/time of

The timestamp to be applied to files that are copied to the work area.

  • Choose Repository item if you want the date/time of the files updated in the work area to have the same value as the item in the repository.

  • Choose Current system if you want updated files in the work area to have the current date and time.

Expand substitution variables

Select this option if you want item header substitution variables expanded when an item file is updated in the work area.

Item headers are only expanded if the item type has Enable item header substitution set in the Administration Console.

Options tab   Use this tab to override the default options for the selected file/folder.

Comment

A comment to be used if a new item revisions is being created in the repository.

 

Requests

The request(s) to be related to a file if it is being delivered to the repository.

  • Use the browse button to select the request(s).

  • <Use default> means your default request for the project/stream will be used.

New Revision

The new revision for a file if it is being delivered to the repository.

 

Item Specification.

The item specification for a new item

Only appears if a new item is to be created.

Item type

The item type to be assigned to a new item.

Accept the default or click the field and select another item type from the drop-down list.

Only appears if a new item is to be created.

Format

The file format for a new item.

Only appears if a new item is to be created.

Permissions after update

The permission to be given to files after they have been copied to the work area. Choose between Make read only and Make writable.

 

Design part.

The part specification for the owning design part for new items created in the repository

  • Only appears if a new item is to be created.

  • Use the browse button to select the design part

  • <Use default>  means the default design part for the project/stream will be used.

Permissions after Deliver

The permission to be given to the file in the work area after it has been delivered to the repository.

Choose between Make read only and Keep unchanged.

 

Properties tab   Use this tab to view the details of a selected file or folder.

Details

A description of the change or conflict.

 

Local item specification

The item specification from which the file in the work area originated.

 

Repository item specification

The item specification of the file in the repository.

 

Originator

The user that created the item revision in the repository.

 

Back to top

See also: