Set the defaults for item operations

Set the defaults for item operations to determine the web client's behavior when you check in, check out, or get copies of items.

These settings determine the default behavior. You can override the defaults when you perform those operations.

PRIVILEGES: No special privileges required.

To set the defaults for item operations:

  1. In the web client, click the user ID link at the top right. The Set User Preferences dialog box opens.

  2. In the Select an Area to Customize list, select Defaults for item operations.

  3. Set the following options:

    Field Description

    After adding revision

    Select whether to leave or remove the file after the Add Item, Check In, or Upload commands:

    • To leave the file in the work area as read only, select Leave workfile as read only.

    • To delete the file in the work area, select Delete workfile.

    After undo checkout

    Select whether to leave, overwrite, or delete the file after the Undo Checkout command.

    • To leave the file in the work area as read only, select Leave workfile as read only.

    • To overwrite the file in the work area with the latest version in the repository, select Replace workfile with latest copy.

    • To delete the file in the work area, select Delete workfile.

    If workfile unchanged

    Select the action to be taken if a check in is attempted and the workfile is unchanged.

    • To check in the file even if it is the same as the version in the repository, select Check in.

    • To undo the checkout if it the file is the same as the version in the repository, select Undo checkout.

    Note: The option Check in only changed revisions for the item type that is set in the Administration Console has no effect on the web client. Do not select Check in to achieve this behavior. This will be for all item types on a per-user basis.

    If writeable workfile exists

    Select the action to be taken when a Check Out or Get Item is performed and a writeable file exists in the work area:

    • To leave the file in the work area when an item is fetched or checked out, select Don't overwrite.

    • To overwrite the file in the work area when an item is fetched or checked out, select Overwrite.

    Get copy only if file modified timestamp is later

    Select this option if you do not want to overwrite the file unless the timestamp of the item file is later than the timestamp of the file in the work area.

    Note: Dimensions CM metadata already optimizes the processing of revisions and files that do not need to be updated, so normally you don't need to select this option.

    If you select this option, the work area file will not be updated if it has a later file modified timestamp than the timestamp of the repository revision, regardless of which revisions these are or how the file in the work area got there.

    Delegate items related to a request Select this option to delegate the items related to a request when you delegate the request.
    Include subdirectories Leave this option selected if you want a get copy to include subfolders.
    Expand substitution variables Select this option if you want the Get Copy or Update operations to expand substitution variables.
    Write metadata Leave this option selected if you want the Get Copy, Check Out or Undo Checkout operations to update metadata in the work area.
  4. Click OK.

Back to top

See also: