Update work areas from streams

You can update your work area with the latest changes from any version of a stream that is associated with a work area.

Use the file merge tool in the Update wizard to manually merge file contents, unless they are merged automatically.

Note: If you are using a Linux client or remote area, the UNIX utility diff3 must be installed for automatic merge to function. For details, see Install Dimensions CM.

To update a work area from a stream:

  1. In the web client, in the My Current Stream or Items tabs, select the stream or folder from which you want to update the work area.

  2. In the toolbar, click Update. The Update Work Area from Stream wizard opens.

  3. In the Update Work Area from Stream wizard, specify the following details:

    Field Description

    Update changes from this stream

    Specify the source stream for the update:

    1. Click Select, and then select an option in the Select Stream dialog box:

      • Home stream. Select the home stream associated with the work area.

      • Parent stream. Select the parent of the home stream associated with the work area.

      • Another stream. Enter the stream's ID or select a stream from the list.

        To enter the stream ID, and optionally a version number, use this format:

        PRODUCT:STREAM_NAME;VERSION

        For example: QLARIUS:JAVA_BRANCHA;5

        When you start typing the stream ID, streams that contain any characters in the string are displayed. For example, to find QLARIUS:JAVA_BRANCHA, enter vs.

    2. (Optional) Select a specific stream version. By default, the changes are updated from the latest version.

    3. Click OK.

    Note: You cannot update from a stream that is associated with a different work area. Use merge instead.

    Update this work area Select the work area to update, or accept your current work area.
    Perform an interactive update This option enables you to manually review the changes before applying them to the work area.

    Limit the scope of the update to this folder

    This option enables you to restrict the scope of the update to a specific folder. Browse to a folder or enter the folder's path.

    If you opened the update from a subfolder, the subfolder's path is displayed.

    Advanced (Optional) Set advanced options described next.
    Include repository files Enter an expression to update only specific files. For details, see Include and exclude files and folders.
    Exclude repository files Enter an expression to exclude a set of files from the update. For details, see Include and exclude files and folders.
    Apply repository date and time Apply the repository date and time to the files in the work area.
    Reset the work area to the latest repository content Select this option to reset the work area to the latest repository content. You can also choose to delete locally added files, such as artifacts added by a local build process.

    Expand substitution variables

    Expand item header substitution variables for the updated items.

    You can expand item headers only if the item type is set to Enable item header substitution in the Administration Console.

    Auto merge non-conflicting file content Automatically merge files that don't have conflicts. You can also select a default character set that is used to transcode Unicode files before merging.
    Skip summary before updating the work area Select this option if you don't want to review the summary before starting the update.
    Close wizard on completion Select this option to exit the wizard after the update.
  4. If you selected to perform an automatic non-interactive update, click Update. The work area is updated and the results are displayed. Proceed to the last step.

    If you selected to perform an interactive update, click Next.

  5. If there are conflicts during a non-interactive update or you're performing a manual interactive update, the Review Changes page opens.

    Review the list of conflicts and use the toolbar icons to select a resolution for each conflict:

    Icon Description
    Ignore Ignore the selected change.
    Merge Manually merge the contents of two item revisions that are in conflict, and update the work area with the resulting file.
    Use local Choose the item revision in the work area.
    Use repository Choose the item revision in the repository and overwrite the version in the work area.
    Use local path or Use repository path Use the path that corresponds either to the work area or to the source of the update in the repository.

    For more details, see Review changes for update or merge.

    To view the changes made to a revision, right-click the revision and select View.

  6. Click Next, review the summary, and click Update.

    If you selected to skip the summary page, click Update.

  7. Click Close to exit the wizard. If you selected to close the wizard on completion, the wizard will be closed automatically after the update.

Back to top

See also: