Roll back deployments

Roll back a deployment to restore the latest versions of files in an area to the versions before deployment. Rollback removes the item revisions from an area and then automatically redeploys the item revisions that were there previously.

Note: Rollback is supported only in the Dimensions CM web client.

Before you roll back items, review the Deploy and rollback rules.

Roll back items

Use this procedure to restore the versions of files in an area to the versions that were there before an item deployment took place.

Selecting one or more item revisions and clicking Roll Back displays any versions of areas that were created as a result of deployment operations for those items, and allows you to roll back a selected version if possible.

Privileges:

To roll back items from an area, you need the Rollback Item from Areas (ITEM_ROLLBACK) privilege for the project/stream/area that you want to roll back.

To roll back an item deployment:

  1. In the web client, open the Deployment tab and select the History tab.

  2. Select one or more item events and click the Roll Back button. The Roll Back Area Versions wizard opens.

  3. Accept the default stage, or select another available stage from the Roll Back Stage list.

  4. (Optional) In the Reason for Rollback field, enter a comment.

  5. If you want the rollback to be queued immediately, select as soon as possible.

  6. To schedule the rollback for a particular time, select at specified time, and use the date picker to select a date and time.

  7. Select the area version to roll back. An exclamation mark icon cant_roll_back_icon.gif indicates that the area version cannot be rolled back.

  8. Click Next.

  9. On the Summary page, review the details and click Finish.

Back to top

Roll back requests

Use this procedure to restore the versions of files in an area to the versions that were there before a request deployment took place. Selecting one or more requests and selecting Roll Back displays any versions of areas that were created as a result of deployment operations for those requests, and allows you to roll back a selected version if possible.

Privileges:

To roll back requests from an area, you need the Rollback Item from Areas (ITEM_ROLLBACK) privilege for the project/stream/area that you want to roll back.

To roll back a request deployment:

  1. In the web client, open the Deployment tab and select the History tab.

  2. Select one or more request events and click the Roll Back button.

  3. Accept the default stage, or select another available stage from the Roll Back Stage list.

  4. (Optional) In the Reason for Rollback field, enter a comment.

  5. If you want the rollback to be queued immediately, select as soon as possible.

  6. To schedule the rollback for a particular time, select at specified time, and use the date picker to select a date and time.

  7. Select the area version to roll back. An exclamation mark icon cant_roll_back_icon.gif indicates that the area version cannot be rolled back.

  8. Click Next.

  9. On the Summary page, review the details and click Finish.

Back to top

Roll back baselines

Use this procedure to restore the versions of files in an area to the versions that were there before a baseline deployment took place. Selecting one or more baselines and selecting Roll Back displays any versions of areas that were created as a result of deployment operations for those baselines, and allows you to roll back a selected version if possible.

Privileges:

To roll back baselines from an area, you need the Rollback Item from Areas (ITEM_ROLLBACK) privilege for the project/stream/area that you want to roll back.

To roll back a baseline deployment:

  1. In the web client, open the Deployment tab and select the History tab.

  2. Select one or more baseline events and click the Roll Back button.

  3. Accept the default stage, or select another available stage from the Roll Back Stage list.

  4. (Optional) In the Reason for Rollback field, enter a comment.

  5. If you want the rollback to be queued immediately, select as soon as possible.

  6. To schedule the rollback for a particular time, select at specified time, and use the date picker to select a date and time.

  7. Select the area version to roll back. An exclamation mark icon cant_roll_back_icon.gif indicates that the area version cannot be rolled back.

  8. Click Next.

  9. On the Summary page, review the details and click Finish.

Back to top

See also: