Shelve your personal changes
If you need to suspend work in progress or isolate work into a dedicated stream, you can shelve the changes from a work area into a topic stream. You can also remove the changes from a work area.
The topic stream with your shelved changes is visible only to you.
Guidelines and behaviors:
Shelving is based on the content of a local work area, not a repository.
Shelving hides changes so that they are only visible to you and the users you share the stream with.
After you have shelved changes, you can:
Reset the work area to set aside the changes and use it for other work.
Rehome the work area to switch it from the original stream to a new topic stream.
You can restore earlier shelved changes to the other stream’s work area by merging the changes via a work area.
You can continue work in the topic stream created by shelving by using its own work area.
|Shelve changes and reset a work area||
Remove changes from a work area that you do not want to deliver to the associated stream when:
After the shelving operation is complete, you can reset the work area to the latest repository content.
|Back up changes||
When you are sharing a stream with other developers but are not ready to deliver your local changes, you can back up your work by committing it to a topic stream. This creates a snapshot of the work area at a given point in time. You can later revert your work area to this snapshot by merging from the shelved topic stream.
When creating backups, you keep the local changes and do not need to reset the work area.