Workspace management

When logging into Mobile Center as an administrator, you have access to the WORKSPACES menu. Here you can define and manage workspaces Note that this menu is visible only to users with an admin role.

Note: Full multi-workspace functionality described here is only available with a Trial, Enterprise, or Ultimate license. If you install an Express or Pro license, or if you move from a Trial license to an Express or Pro license, you will have limited functionality. You will be able to manage the access of users to available devices by creating workspaces, and by moving devices and users to these workspaces, similar to the device group functionality provided in earlier versions of Mobile Center. However, you will only be able to upload apps to the Public workspace.

Getting started with workspaces

Workspaces are individual work areas within your lab. Create workspaces to segregate or share applications and devices between specific groups of users, and use the Public workspace for sharing assets among your users. Each workspace has its own devices, apps, and users. By default, each project has a Public workspace. Devices and apps in the Public workspace are shared assets that are available to all users.

You can create your own custom workspaces, according to the needs of your organization. For example, you can define workspaces according to specific geographical areas, or by company division or team.

Back to top

Create and update workspaces

Use All workspaces in the left panel for overall visibility, and for management of devices, users, and apps between workspaces.

An administrator can manage workspaces as follows:

Create a new workspace

Click the plus icon at the top of the left panel, and enter a name for the workspace.

Edit a workspace To edit a workspace name, in the left panel, click the name to select it and modify its text. You can also add or remove devices, users, and apps from a workspace.
Delete a workspace

In the left panel, select the workspace and click the Remove icon. Removing the workspace unassigns all users from the workspace, deletes all app versions from the workspace, and returns the devices to the Public workspace.

Note that you cannot delete the Public workspace.

View a specific workspace In the left panel, select the workspace. Use the tabs on the right to view the devices, apps, and users assigned to a specific workspace. Note that if you are using an Express or Pro license, the APPS tab will be visible only when viewing All workspaces or the Public workspace.

Back to top

Manage access to devices

When you connect new devices to Mobile Center, they are added to the Public workspace (provided the connector was not installed as private). Each device can only belong to one workspace.

Note: Starting with Mobile Center version 2.70, Device Groups have been replaced with workspaces. When you upgrade from Mobile Center 2.60 to 2.70, existing device groups are converted into workspaces. Manage the access of users to available devices by creating workspaces, and by moving devices and users to these workspaces. In addition, if your license includes full multi-workspace functionality, you can also upload apps to your workspaces, thereby creating complete separation of your lab assets. For more details, see Workspace management.

Use the DEVICES tab to manage user access to devices:

Move a device from one workspace to another
  1. In the left panel, select All workspaces to view all the devices in your lab.
  2. Make sure that the ALL DEVICES tab is selected.
  3. Click the device in the grid to select it.
  4. Click SELECT WORKSPACE. In the drop-down list, select the workspace to which to move the selected device.
View device info and manage a device For more information on a device, click   to open the Device Information window. Click one of the tabs: Details, Reservations, or Actions. For details, see View and manage devices.

Back to top

Assign users to workspaces

Users can belong to multiple workspaces. Users who were not assigned to a specific workspace, will only have access to devices and apps in the Public workspace. You assign users to workspaces from the USERS tab.

Assign a user to a workspace
  1. In the left panel, select All workspaces.
  2. Make sure that the ALL USERS tab is selected. The list of users is displayed.
    Note: To add a new user, select the ADMINISTRATION menu in the masthead, and then click the USERS tab. For more details, see User Management.
  3. Select a user by clicking the user name in the grid.
  4. Click SELECT WORKSPACE. In the drop-down list, select the workspace to which to move the selected user, and click ASSIGN.

Note: You cannot assign an admin user to a specific workspace as by default, an admin user is automatically given ownership of all workspaces.

Unassign a user from a workspace
  1. In the left panel, select the workspace from which you want to unassign the user.
  2. Make sure that the USERS tab is selected.
  3. Click the user name in the grid to select it.
  4. Click REMOVE FROM WORKSPACE.

Back to top

View apps assigned to workspaces

An admin user can get an overall view of which apps are assigned to what workspaces by selecting All workspaces in the left panel. Make sure that the ALL APPS tab is selected. The list of workspaces to which each app was uploaded is displayed.

Tip: For more information on the app, for example to see the specific upload of that app being used in a particular workspace, click  .

To upload an app to a workspace, select the APPS menu in the masthead. For more details, see View, upload, and manage apps.

See also: