User management

In the USERS tab, you can add users, reset passwords, change roles, or delete users.

If you are using LDAP, you can change user roles, however, creating and deleting users, and resetting user passwords options are disabled. When SAML SSO is enabled, resetting user passwords is disabled.

Add a new user

Only authorized users can access UFT Mobile. To allow others to run tests with UFT Mobile you need to add them to the list of authorized users.

The USERS tab lists all of the users in the shared space. Shared space admins can filter the list by role.

You can add users to UFTM :

  • Manually via the UFTM console (described in this topic).
  • Through a user management script.
  • For LDAP only: By logging in. Once a user is authenticated, an initial login adds them to the list of users and the default workspace. To allow this behavior in SAML SSO mode, enable the Automatically add user on login option in the SAML SSO integration Administration Settings.
  • For LDAP only: By synchronizing the LDAP users. For details, see Synchronize the LDAP user list.

To add a new user through the UFTM console:

  1. Click Administration in the right of the masthead, and click the USERS tab.
  2. Click Add User. The Add User box opens.
  3. Enter the new user's email address and password. The password must be at least 6 characters long (maximum of 20 characters) and must contain at least:

    • one digit from 0-9
    • one lowercase English character
    • one uppercase English character

    SSO:  When SSO is enabled, enter the user name as defined in the Identify Provider (IdP).

  4. Assign a role for the new user. User, Workspace admin, or Shared space admin.

    The Workspace admin has identical permissions to a User, with the added ability to assign or unassign existing users to the workspaces that they administer. For details, see Workspace admin.

    The following table shows the main differences between roles:

    Permissions User, Workspace admin Shared space admin
    View system info
    Download logs Can only download logs for devices to which they have access. Can download all logs.
    Manage Users

    Workspace admin: Can assign/ unassign existing users to workspaces to which they belong.

    Can create and delete users.
    Can assign/ unassign existing users to a shared space in which they are assigned as an administrator. Can assign user roles within a shared space
    Devices

    Can only access their private devices, devices in shared assets, or devices belonging to workspaces to which they have been assigned as users.

    Has control of all devices. Can move devices between workspaces.
    View Connectors Can only view their own connectors. Can view and manage all connectors.
    Connector Access Keys


    Can generate Connector access keys for users.
    View Reservations Can manage only their own reservations in the Reservations tab. Can toggle between All and Mine in the Reservations tab.
    Administration Menu

    User: Not visible

    Workspace admin: Visible (button differs from the Shared space admin)

    Visible

    Can access the administration area of the Lab to create and manage users, configure UFT Mobile settings, and manage licenses.

    Workspaces Menu

     

    Not visible

    Visible

    Can access the workspaces area of the Lab to create and manage workspaces, and to assign users and devices to workspaces.

    Note: When using UFT Mobile as a managed service provided by an MSP or when shared spaces are enabled, administrators cannot download server logs. Operators (MSPs) can download the logs and also reset passwords. For details, see Shared spaces (on-premises).

  5. When using multiple workspaces, assign the user to a workspace.

    1. Click the MANAGEMENT tab and select ALL USERS.
    2. Select the user you want to assign, and click Select workspace.
    3. Select the workspaces that you want the user to access, and click SAVE.
  6. To filter Add User. The Add User box opens.

Back to top

LDAP users

You can also integrate LDAP with UFT Mobile by defining the LDAP settings in the Administration Settings page. This enables individuals in organizations that use LDAP for managing user credentials and permissions, to access UFT Mobile with their LDAP credentials, without the need for the administrator to first add them to the list of authorized users.

For details about LDAP setup, see Configure UFT Mobile for LDAP.

Back to top

Workspace admin

If you were assigned a Workspace admin role, you can manage user workspaces in the following way:

  • Add users to your workspaces.
  • Remove users from your workspaces.

To manage user workspaces:

  1. Click the Administration button .
  2. Click the MANAGEMENT tab.
  3. Select a user from the list (Shared space admin's cannot be selected).
  4. Click the Select workspace button.
  5. Add or remove the user to/from the available workspaces and click Save.

    Note: If you remove a user from all workspaces, they will not be able to log in.

  6. Repeat this for each user whose workspaces you want to manage.

Back to top

Filter the user list

Filtering the user list is useful if you want to find a specific user, or to update their details. Make sure you are on the USER MANAGEMENT page.

  • To filter by role, Shared space admin, Worskpace adminor User, select the appropriate check boxes in the left pane.
  • To filter by name, hover on the Search button adjacent to the User Management header, and enter the text of the user's email or username.

Back to top

Edit a user's password or role

To reset a user's password or to change a user's role:

  1. Click Administration in the right of the masthead, and click the Users tab.
  2. Hover on the user and click .
  3. Enter a new password or select/clear the Admin check box.

You can also use the user_management script to change a user's password, change the role of a non-admin user to an administrator, or create a new administrator. For details, see Manage user accounts with scripts (on-premises).

Back to top

Delete a user

To delete a user:

  1. Click Administration in the right of the masthead, and click the Users tab.
  2. Hover on a user and click . When you delete a user, the user is removed from the workspaces to which they were assigned, and any execution tokens generated by the user are also deleted.

Back to top

See also: