Manage spaces (for space admins)

This topic describes how to configure a particular space, in a SaaS or on-premises deployment.

For details on how site admins manage spaces at the site level in an on-premises deployment, see Manage spaces (for site admins).

Tip: For strategies for setting up your spaces and workspaces, see Best practices for setting up spaces and workspaces.

Edit settings for a space

Space admins modify and customize settings for a space.

  1. In Settings > Spaces, and then select the space.

  2. Edit the space by adding users and setting up API access.

    If the space is shared , you can also add releases, teams, UDFs, forms, workflow, rules, calendar events, and so on.

Back to top

Create workspaces

Space admins create and manage workspaces. Assigned space admins, and admins for workspaces, can then manage workspace contents.

  1. In Settings > Spaces, navigate to the relevant space.

  2. Click Add Workspace in the left pane. Name the workspace, add a description, and assign an admin for the workspace.

    Workspace names are unique within a space.

  3. Assign an admin for the workspace, and workspace members. Assign other roles to users as necessary in the workspace. For details, see Assign and unassign roles.

    Tip: If you need to edit workspace content, for example, to create releases, rules, and so on, you can assign the relevant roles to yourself.

  4. Assign yourself to the workspace.

    Click the name of the workspace to enter it. If you did not assign any roles to yourself for the workspace, you are prompted to assign yourself to the workspace. This makes you a workspace admin.

    Tip: Click Cancel if you know you do not need to modify workspace content.

    Space admins have full permissions to manage any workspaces they are assigned to, including updating workspace content, regardless of the workspace admin's roles and permissions defined in Settings > Permissions.

Back to top

Disable and enable workspaces

Space admins can disable and enable workspaces.

Disabling a workspace makes its data temporarily inaccessible. This operation can be undone by enabling the workspace.

When a workspace is disabled, the data is retained and can be made accessible again after the workspace is enabled.

Reasons for disabling workspaces

Here are some use cases for why you might want to disable a workspace: 

  • Put a project "on hold" temporarily, for example if no work is being done on this project. Deactivating the workspace retains the data and you can enable the workspace if the project is prioritized again. Then you can continue working on it.

  • Access data for a project for auditing purposes only, before archiving it.

  • You are about to make a major project customization or maintenance change, and you do not want users to work on the project until the changes are completed.

Effects of disabling a workspace

  • If the workspace a user last accessed is disabled, they are redirected to another one. If there is no enabled workspace available, the user is prompted to contact the admin.

  • Users cannot access a disabled workspace. It does not appear in the drop-down list in the top banner. Similarly, REST API requests cannot access a disabled workspace.

  • In Settings, disabled workspaces are displayed in gray.

  • Admins with workspace permissions can still add users to disabled spaces.

  • Data from a disabled workspace still appears in cross-workspace graphs, as data from any workspace would. There is no indication that the graph contains data from a disabled workspace.

Disable a workspace

  1. In Settings > Spaces, select the workspace and click .

  2. If prompted, give yourself administrative permissions for the workspace.

  3. If prompted, confirm that you do want to temporary disable, or enable, the workspace.

Back to top

Delete workspaces

Deleting a workspace makes its data inaccessible. For example, any data from the workspace that appeared in a cross-workspace graph is no longer displayed. This operation cannot be undone.

Space admins can delete workspaces.

Every space has at least one active workspace. the default workspace. The original name of this workspace is default_workspace. It can be renamed but it cannot be deleted.

If the workspace you last accessed is deleted, you are redirected to the another one.

  1. In Settings > Spaces, select the workspace and click .

  2. When prompted, give yourself administrative permissions for the workspace.

  3. When prompted, confirm that you do want to delete the workspace.

Back to top

Manage users

User management includes adding users, including existing users to workspaces, adding roles to users, and so on.

  1. In Settings , depending on your permissions, click Site or Spaces.

  2. Select the Users tab.

    To filter users by roles and workspaces:

    1. In the Users tab, show the Filter pane , and click Add Filter. Select Roles and Workspaces > Role, and select the roles by which you want to filter.
    2. To further narrow down your results by workspaces, click Add Filter again, select Roles and Workspaces > Workspace, and select the workspaces by which you want to filter.
  3. Add or edit users, depending on your role.

    Note: Most roles can be customized. Roles and their permissions might be different for your organization.

    User management capability Site admin (on-premises) Shared space admin
    Admins for workspaces
    Add users to the current context (site, space, or workspace). For details, see Assign roles and permissions.
    Add users to the current context (site, space, or workspace) using the REST API. For details, see POST: Create a user.
    Import LDAP users to a space. For details, see Add LDAP users in ALM Octane .
    Import IdP users for SSO authentication. For details, see Import IdP users for SSO authentication into a workspace (on-premises).
    Add existing users from the space into the workspace. For details, see Include existing users into a workspace.
    Remove roles from a workspace user. For details, see Assign and unassign roles.

    Choose the fields to display in the user list, sort the list, and export the list to Microsoft Excel.

    Set user passwords.

    Assign additional roles to users. For details, see Assign to, or unassign roles from, existing users.

    Site admin can only assign the space admin role.

    Assign the site admin role to other users. For details, see Assign the site admin role to existing users (on-premises).
    Activate and deactivate users. For details, see Assign roles and permissions. SaaS: SaaS:
    Delete a user. For details, see Manage the site (on-premises).

Back to top

Next steps: