Manage site users (on-premises)

Manage users at the site level

Site admins can delete, activate, and deactivate users from Settings > Site. They can also assign other users the site admin role.

Space admins, and admins for workspaces can also activate and deactivate users. For details, see Activate or deactivate a user.

Assign the site admin role to existing users

  1. In Settings > SiteUsers grid view, select the user who should also be a site admin.

  2. Click to display the Roles column.

  3. Select Site Admin in the Roles column for that user.

Delete a user

The operation of deleting a user may take a few minutes.

Note: Before deleting in ALM Octane, SaaS operators should delete the user from the system before deleting the user in ALM Octane.

  1. In Settings > SiteUsers grid view, select a user.

  2. In the toolbar, click and answer Yes to confirm.

  3. If your site is configured to erase all traces of the deleted user, the following appears.

    Click Delete.

    We strongly recommend that you manage an external file that maps deleted ALM Octane users to reference codes.

    Enter a reference code for the user from this external file.

    Internally, references to the user are replaced by this reference code in ALM Octane.

    If you do not enter a reference code, the user is not deleted.

    For details on how to configure the site to erase deleted users' details, see FORGET_USER_ON_DELETE under Configuration parameters.

    Setting the value for this parameter only affects how users are deleted from this point forward, not retroactively.

Tip: You can also delete multiple users using the REST API. For details, see Delete multiple users.

Back to top