Manage spaces (for site admins)

This topic discusses how site admins manage spaces in an on-premises deployment.

For details on how to configure a particular space, in a SaaS or on-premises deployment, see Manage spaces (for space admins).

Tip: For strategies for setting up your spaces and workspaces, see Best practices for setting up spaces and workspaces.

View space details

This section describes how to view space details.

To access: Settings > Site > Spaces

  • You can view a grid of the spaces on your site, select the columns to display, sort and filter the grid.
  • Click a space's ID to open its details page, and view its history.
  • The Progress field contains information on a space's upgrade progress or its migration progress to a shared space.

Back to top

Create a space

This section describes how to create a space.

To create a space:

  1. In Settings > Site:

    To create a shared space, click .

    To create an isolated space, click .

  2. Name the space. You can rename the space at any time.

  3. If the database at your site is managed by database administrators, and ALM Octane is not authorized to create its own schemas or databases, check Use existing schema. Enter the name of the existing space schema to use, and its password.

  4. Create workspaces and associate them with the space. For details, see Manage workspaces.

Back to top

Add or remove space admins

This section describes how to add or remove space admins.

To add new or remove existing space admins:

  1. In Settings > Site open the Spaces tab.
  2. Click in the Administrators column in the space you want to edit to open the user drop down.
  3. From the list, select or remove admins for this space.

Back to top

Upgrade spaces

After upgrading from a previous ALM Octane version, check if any spaces must be upgraded. Upgrade these spaces using the instructions below.

Note: Until all of the background jobs have completed, some data may be unavailable in trend graphs, and some ALM Octane features might be temporarily unavailable.

To upgrade spaces:

  1. In Settings > Site> Spaces, select all spaces and click Upgrade.

    Upgrade is available only if a space needs to be upgraded.

    Click Refresh to see the updated status for the spaces.

  2. The workspace name is a unique identifier within a space. ALM Octane adds a numeric suffix (_1, _2, and so on) to any upgraded workspaces with the same name. If necessary, ALM Octane truncates the last characters from workspace names longer than 255 characters before adding the suffix.

    After upgrading, review the names of the workspaces. You can rename them if you want.

Back to top

Monitor a space's background jobs

Background jobs include processes that run after upgrading a space, among other activities. A space is only fully upgraded after all background jobs have completed successfully. Check periodically to see when an upgraded space is ready.

To monitor a space's background jobs:

  1. In Settings > Site> Spaces, select the space, and click Background Jobs.
  2. Review the statuses of the spaces.

    Active, Inactive

    The space retained its state from before the upgrade.

    No action necessary.

    Upgrading

    The space is waiting to be sent for upgrade but the upgrade has not yet started. When the upgrade is actually in progress, the current step being processed is displayed. See the status Step # of #.

    The number of spaces that can be upgraded concurrently is limited.

    No action necessary.

    Step # of #

    As the upgrade progresses, the current step and operation are displayed.

    No action necessary.

    Suspended

    A recoverable error occurred.

    Review the error and the logs. Display the Recovery guidelines field, and follow the instructions. Restart the upgrade.

    Corrupted

    An unrecoverable error occurred.

    Restore schemas from the previous version.

    For details, see:

  1. Some jobs can be rerun. If a job failed, try rerunning it.

  2. When all jobs have completed, if you are in the middle of an ALM Octane upgrade, continue by restarting all Jetty servers.

Note: Until all of the background jobs have completed, some data may be unavailable in trend graphs, and some ALM Octane features might be temporarily unavailable.

Back to top

Deactivate a space

If you want to disable a space temporarily, instead of deleting it, you can deactivate the space.

To deactivate a space, select it and click Deactivate Space. As soon as background jobs are complete, the space is deactivated. This means that users and space admins cannot log in to the space or view its data.

To re-activate a space, select it and click Activate Space.

Back to top

Manage storage

Available workspace storage is set on the space level, and not per workspace. This means the amount of total available workspace storage is shared between the workspaces in the space.

Site admins can set the maximum size for storage per space with the STORAGE_MAX_SIZE configuration parameter. For details, see Configuration parameters.

Back to top

Delete a space

Deleting a space removes all data from all of the space's workspaces.

Caution: You cannot undo this operation. Make sure you want to delete the space before proceeding.

Before deleting a space, note the following: 

  • You cannot delete the default space.

  • You cannot delete multiple spaces at one time.

  • For security and GDPR compliance, you can view the history of deleted spaces using the REST API. For details, see Viewing the history of deleted spaces.

  • The history of session information is deleted. However, files are created that contain this information for security and GDPR compliance.

    Each file can contain information for up to 500 sessions. Files are located here: 

    C:\qc\views\mqm\site\storage\site\security

    The naming convention for the files is: 

    SessionsOfDeletedSpace_<space_id>_<spaceName> [_<pageNum>]

To delete a space: 

  1. In Settings > Site> Spaces, select the space you want to delete.

  2. In the toolbar, click More and then Delete.

Back to top

See also: