Administer the site (on-premises)

Here are instructions for managing the overall site, such as ALM Octane database servers, mail servers, and logs. This context is also for adding spaces and reviewing the history of modifications to spaces. On-premises site admins can manage the site from the Site area in Settings.

About the site

Site administration includes tasks such as managing ALM Octane database servers, mail servers, and logs.

The site context is also for adding spaces and reviewing the history of modifications to spaces.

On-premises site admins can manage the site from the Site area in Settings.

Manage servers

You can perform the following server management actions in Settings .

Site admin permissions are required.

Click Site and then click the Servers tab.

Task How to
Refresh the status of the servers to test connectivity. Click the relevant server, and then click .
Change log details.

In the Application Logs area, click the log file name, change the Level and Max Size, and click Save.

  • Path

    The path of the log file. (Read only)

    The log is written to the relevant log file in the specified path, according to the context in which you are working.

    Example: When you are working in the context of the main ALM Octane application, the log is written to the app.log file located in Path.

  • Level

    Determines the severity of the events to include in the log.

    Valid values are: Fatal, Error, Warn, Info, Debug, Trace.

    Note: If you change the log level to Debug, make sure to change it back when you are finished debugging.

  • Max Size

    When the log size reaches this maximum size in MB, a new log file opens.

Change the database admin password. In the Database Servers area, click the server name, change the Admin password, and click Save.
Change the mail server host name and port. In the Mail Servers are, click the server name, change the Host name and Port, and click Save.

Back to top

Manage users at the site level

You can delete, activate, and deactivate users from the Site area in Settings.

For details on activating and deactivating users, see Activate or deactivate a user.

Delete a user (on-premises)

Deleting a user removes a user from ALM Octane.

Site admin permissions are required.

To delete a user:

  1. In Settings , depending on your permissions, click Site.

  2. In the Users grid, select a user.

  3. In the toolbar, click and answer Yes to confirm.

  4. If your site is configured to erase all traces of deleted users, the following appears: 

    We strongly recommend that you manage an external file that maps deleted ALM Octane users to reference codes.

    Enter a reference code for the user from this external file.

    Internally, all references to the user are replaced by this reference code in ALM Octane.

    If you do not enter a reference code, the user is not deleted.

    For details on how to configure the site to erase deleted users' details, see the FORGET_USER_ON_DELETE configuration parameter under LOGIN_PAGE_NOTICE . Note that setting the value for this parameter only affects how users are deleted from this point forward. Setting this parameter to true does not erase the details of already-deleted users.

Tip: You can delete multiple users using the REST API. For details, see Delete multiple users.

Back to top

Manage spaces

You can add and upgrade spaces from the Site area in Settings.

Some of the operations you can perform are seeing a space's background jobs, and upgrading a space.

For details, see Manage spaces.

Back to top

Set configuration parameters

Site admins and shared space admins can set configuration parameters, such as parameters for setting the language, determining from where the Help Center opens, activating basic authentication, and so on: 

Back to top

View sessions

You can see information about each session that logged into ALM Octane. This includes:

  • The user ID that logged in

  • The type of access for the session (UI, API user, or API key)

  • The IP address used for the session

  • The duration of the session

To view sessions, click Site and then click the Servers tab.

Site admin permissions are required.

Back to top

See also: