Set up lists

This topic provides instructions for working with pre-defined and user-defined lists.

Overview

ALM Octane provides default lists of values for system fields.

Space admins, and admins for workspaces, can modify values for many system lists, and create lists. Admins without Administration > List > Manage permissions can view the Lists area in Settings, but cannot make any updates.

All lists and list values have the following types of names:

  • Names, which are displayed in the ALM Octane UI and can be used for filtering in REST API.

  • Logical names, for use with the REST API, such as when filtering.

When creating user-defined lists and list values, logical names are automatically generated.

For details on working with lists in the REST API, see Working with lists.

Back to top

Sharing lists between spaces

Lists can be defined for shared spaces and workspaces. This overview describes how to work with shared and non-shared lists.

Isolated spaces

Lists cannot be defined at the space level when the space is isolated.

Instead, admins for workspaces can define lists in individual workspaces.

The lists are available in that individual workspace only.

Shared spaces (Enterprise Edition)

This table summarizes the actions admins can perform when defining lists in shared spaces and associated workspaces.

Shared space Associated workspaces

The space admin can add and modify lists defined in the shared space.

The lists are available to all associated workspaces.

  • For lists defined by the space admin in the shared space:

    ALM Octane users working in a specific workspace can access the lists defined for the corresponding shared space. Shared lists are displayed with the icon.

    The admin for a workspace cannot modify shared lists.

  • Lists cannot be defined by the admin in a workspace.

Back to top

Create a user-defined list

After an admin creates a user-defined list, the list can be added in your forms and rules can be created that access the lists.

To create a user-defined list: 

  1. In Settings > Spaces, select a shared space or a workspace.

  2. Click Lists, and then + to add a list.

  3. Name the list.

  4. You can perform the following operations on your lists: 

    Click... To...
    Name text box

    Rename the list.

    List item's Name text box Rename a list item.

    Add a value to the list.

    Toggle sorting the items in the list in ascending and descending order.

    Additional options:

    • Deprecate. Deprecated items are no longer displayed in the list. The item values are not removed from existing lists. You cannot reactivate an item in the list once the list is saved.

    • Deactivate. Temporarily deactivate list items. You can see the list but they are disabled. The item values are not removed from existing lists. You can later activate a deactivated list item.

    • Activate. Re-activate deactivated list items. You can see the list and they are no longer disabled.

    Restore While editing a list, you can restore the values until you Save. Values are reset to their original values when you started editing the list.
  5. Click Add.

Back to top

Modify a list

The admin can modify user-defined lists, and some of the default system lists that are provided with ALM Octane.

To modify a list: 

  1. In Settings > Spaces, select a shared space or a workspace.

  2. Click Lists.

  3. You can modify only user-defined lists and certain system lists. To determine if, and to what extent, lists are editable, see the IS MODIFIABLE and IS RENAME ONLY columns.
  4. Click the link to the list you want to modify.

  5. Modify the list. 

    Note: Not all lists support full editing.

    Click... To...
    Name text box

    Rename the list.

    List item's Name text box Rename a list item.

    Add a value to the list.

    Toggle sorting the items in the list in ascending and descending order.

    Additional options:

    • Deprecate. Deprecated items are no longer displayed in the list. The item values are not removed from existing lists. You cannot reactivate an item in the list once the list is saved.

    • Deactivate. Temporarily deactivate list items. You can see the list but they are disabled. The item values are not removed from existing lists. You can later activate a deactivated list item.

    • Activate. Re-activate deactivated list items. You can see the list and they are no longer disabled.

    Restore While editing a list, you can restore the values until you Save. Values are reset to their original values when you started editing the list.
  6. Click Save.

Back to top

Delete a user-defined list

If a list is no longer in use by any user-defined fields (UDFs) or rules, the admin can delete the list.

To delete a user-defined list

  1. In Settings > Spaces, select a shared space or a workspace.

  2. Click Lists.

  3. Select the list you want to delete.

  4. Click Delete List .

Back to top

See also: