Rollback

This section describes how to roll back after upgrading an on-premises ALM Octane server. This may be necessary if for some reason the upgrade fails or performance is slow.

Depending on when you want to roll back, there are different steps to perform.

After the upgrade's setup validation phase

You can roll back after the upgrade's setup validation phase, whether it passed or failed.

If the upgrade reached setup validation, the following have been modified: 

  • Previously-deployed files

  • setup.xml and octane.yml configuration files

To roll back the deployed files, including setup.xml, and octane.yml files

  1. Revert to the previous rpm file: rpm -Uvh --oldpackage <filename>

  2. Revert to the backups of the setup.xml and octane.yml configuration files.

  3. Re-initialize the ALM Octane server (the octane service). For details, see Start the ALM Octane server manually.

Back to top

After a site schema has been upgraded

You can roll back after the upgrade's site schema have been upgraded.

If the upgrade upgraded the site schema, the following has been modified:

  • The RPM file

  • setup.xml and octane.yml configuration files

  • The site schema

To roll back the site schema

  1. Stop the ALM Octane server (the octane service).

  2. Revert to a backup of the site schema.

  3. Revert to the previous rpm file: rpm -Uvh --oldpackage <filename>

  4. Revert to backups of setup.xml and octane.yml configuration files.

  5. Re-initialize the ALM Octane server (the octane service). For details, see Start the ALM Octane server manually.

Back to top

After space schema has been upgraded

If the upgrade upgraded the site schema, the following have been modified:

  • The space schema

  • Elasticsearch indexes

  • ALM Octane repository files

Follow the steps for one of the following options.

Rollback option Steps
To roll back changes to the space schema
  1. Open the backup of the space schema.

  2. Open the backup of Elasticsearch indexes.

  3. Open the repository backup for this specific space.

  4. Fix what caused the upgrade to fail.

  5. Reset the following for the space within the site schema:

    1. Open the SHARED_SPACE table.
    2. Find the record for the shared space. You can search for the SP_NAME.
    3. Set the SP_STATUS to ACTIVE.
    4. Set the SP_VERSION to the original version number before upgrading.
  6. Upgrade again.

To roll back the entire upgrade

Follow the steps for To roll back the site schema.

Back to top

After upgrade completed

If the upgrade completed successfully, the following have been modified:

  • The RPM file

  • setup.xml and octane.yml configuration files

  • The site schema

  • The space schema

  • Elasticsearch indexes

  • ALM Octane repository files

To roll back the entire upgrade

  1. Follow the steps for To roll back the site schema.

  2. Follow the steps for To roll back changes to the space schema for each space.

Back to top

After upgrading cluster nodes

If you upgraded additional cluster nodes, the following has been modified on the cluster nodes: 

  • Previously-deployed files

  • setup.xml and octane.yml configuration files

To roll back to the rpm package

  1. Revert to the previous rpm file on each cluster node: rpm -Uvh --oldpackage <filename>

  2. Re-initialize the ALM Octane server (the octane service) on each cluster node. For details, see Cluster installation (optional) and Start the ALM Octane server manually.

Back to top

See also: