Overview of Workflows

A workflow represents a business process, and is used to map business rules and processes to your organization. This section covers information about Deployment Management workflows.

The basic components of a workflow are as follows:

  • Begin: For each workflow, you must explicitly define the first eligible workflow step.

  • Workflow steps: Events that are linked together to form a complete workflow. The basic types of workflow steps are:

    • Decision steps: Represent manual activities performed outside of PPM. For example, a user or group of users approves a request.

    • Execution steps: Represent actions that are automated through PPM. For example, a Web page is updated with the results of a test.

    • Condition steps: Logic steps used in complex workflow processing. For example, you can set up a condition step that allows the workflow to proceed only when each workflow step is completed.

    • Subworkflow steps: Represent multiple workflows steps (the subworkflow) in a workflow. For example, a test workflow step in the main workflow represents a series of tests and approvals.

  • Transition: The results of a workflow step that must be communicated to another workflow step. A transition occurs after a workflow step is completed.


    • The result of a decision step is Approved or Not Approved.

    • The transition for a step labeled Analysis and Design (for a software application) could be Completed or Needs More Work.

    Because a single step can have several possible results, you can define multiple outgoing transitions for each workflow step.

  • Workflow step security: Determines who has permission to run or choose a result for a workflow step. For example, you can specify that only the development manager can approve or deny a Design Review decision step.

  • Notifications: Email alerts sent out at specific workflow steps. For example, when a package reaches an Evaluate decision step in the workflow, an email alert is sent to the development manager.

  • Close step: Ends the workflow. It is an execution step that marks the package as completed.

Table 3-1. Component types lists component types included in workflows, and the components of each type that you can access from the Workflow Workbench.

Table 3-1. Component types

Component Type


Out-of-the-Box Component


  • Approval w/ Cancel

  • Approve (All Users)

  • Approve (One User)

  • BTO Approve for Testing

  • BTO Assign

  • BTO Design

  • BTO Develop

  • BTO Evaluate Quality

  • BTO Post Change Evaluation

  • DEM - Approval (One)

  • DEM - Assign

  • DEM - Contact Vendor

  • DEM - Develop

  • DEM - Get Patch

  • DEM - Vendor Response

  • DEM - Y/N

  • Design Review

  • Evaluate

  • MAM Develop

  • PM - In Flight

  • PM - On Hold

  • PMO - Complete

  • Perform Manual Step

  • Production Sanity Testing

  • QA Test

  • Quality Center Sanity Test Execution

  • Quality Center Test Execution

  • Quality Center Test Lab Setup

  • Quality Process Entry

  • Rework Code

  • User Sign Off








  • Close (Immediate failure)

  • Close (Immediate success)

  • Close (Manual success)

  • Check Object Type

  • DEM - Rejected On

  • DEM - SLA Satisfied On

  • DEM - Scope Check

  • DLV - Execution (Immediate)

  • DLV - Execution (Manual)

  • DLV - Execution w/ Reset

  • DLV - Execution w/ Reset/Abort

  • DLV - Exec w/ Partial Reset

  • DEM - Priority Router

  • DEM - Internal/External Check

  • Immediate Execution w/Comment

  • OA - Get Current Instance Mode

  • OA - Set Instance Mode

  • OA - Reset Instance Mode

  • Package Priority