Available in versions: 9.54 and later
PPM Administrator task
When a user is editing costs or benefits in a financial summary, to make sure the user's changes are successfully saved, you as the PPM administrator can lock the costs and benefits to prevent other users or background service from making changes.
How to disable concurrent editing of costs and benefits
Use the following parameters.
|When you set it true, the costs or benefits of a financial summary is locked if a user is editing costs or benefits.
By default, a user can stay idly in the edit costs/benefits page without doing anything for 20 minutes. When the time is up, a dialog pops up to ask whether the user wants to stay in the edit page.
You can configure this parameter to specify how long (in minutes) a user can stay idly in the edit costs/benefits page.
The confirmation dialog that asks users whether they want to stay in the edit page will be there for 10 seconds for them to respond. When the time is up, the lock is released and the users will be directed to the financial summary page.
You can configure this parameter to specify how long (in seconds) the confirmation dialog will be alive.
When the lock starts and gets released
If current editing of costs and benefits is disabled, PPM behaves different in the new UI and old UI of the edit costs/benefits page in terms of when to start and release the lock.
|New UI of the edit costs page
|Old UI of the edit costs/benefits page
|When the lock becomes effective?
When the current user makes a change to enable the Save button in the edit costs page, the lock becomes effective.
Other users can enter the page but they cannot edit anything in the page.
When the current user enters the edit costs/benefits page, the lock becomes effective.
Other users cannot enter the page.
|When the lock is released?
|When the current user save changes or leaves the edit costs page, the lock is released.
|When the current user leaves the edit costs/benefits page, the lock is released.