Modifying Production Workflows

The final step in modifying workflows already in use is to modify the production workflow. The following sections offer guidance on how to modify the production workflow.

Disabling Workflow Steps

As mentioned in Table 7-9. Rules for modifying production workflows, you cannot delete a step from a workflow that is in use. You can only disable it. However, you may want to change the process. Any changes to the process must be reflected in the workflow. This may require disabling existing steps and adding new steps.

To disable a step and add a new one:

  1. Remove transitions to the workflow step you no longer want to use.

  2. Add a new step to the workflow.

  3. Redirect the transitions to the new workflow step.

Redirecting Workflows

If you disable a workflow step that is eligible for user action, the requests or package lines in that step become stuck. Because the step is disabled, the user cannot take action on it and so cannot proceed to the next step in the workflow.

The outgoing transition to be deleted is still intact, so the eligible package lines and requests will eventually be acted upon and flow out of the workflow step.

Add a new workflow step to the workflow and redirect the transitions to that new workflow step so that the movement of package lines and requests avoids the disabled step and is not interrupted.

For example, consider the workflow sequence shown in Figure 7-2. Redirecting the workflow, step 1, in which you want to disable step B.

Figure 7-2. Redirecting the workflow, step 1

After you remove the incoming and outgoing transitions to B, add a new workflow step D, which connects steps A and C and allow the workflow to continue to process requests or package lines (see Figure 7-3. Redirecting the workflow, step 2 ).

Figure 7-3. Redirecting the workflow, step 2

Run the report(s) again to ensure there are no entities eligible for action by the user in the disabled step.

Moving Requests or Packages Out of Steps

If the requests or packages are stuck in a step after a transition is removed from a workflow in use, add the deleted transition back to the workflow. After the requests or packages have flowed out of the step, delete the transition again.