Manage users

As an administrator, you can add, lock, disable, or delete users, assign or remove an administrator role, and set user passwords.

User registration

PulseUno supports the following user types:

User type Description
Standard Can use peer reviews, changeset views, and request management.
Administrator Can change a user's role and administer the system. PulseUno can have multiple administrators.

Depending on whether the authentication is external or internal, users are registered in the following ways:

Authentication Description
External authentication through LDAP, Dimensions CM, AccuRev, or StarTeam

Users are registered automatically as they log in, and PulseUno pulls their email addresses and full names from the external system.

As an administrator, you only need to configure which users have administrator privileges. To change passwords, use the external system.

Internal authentication (for example, when installed standalone) You manually add and remove users, assign administrator privileges, and set or change user passwords.

Back to top

Assign an administrator role

As an administrator, you can give administrator privileges to other users.

To assign or remove an administrator role:

  1. In PulseUno, navigate to Administration > Users.

    A list of users is displayed including their user name, full name, email address, and user type.

  2. To assign administrator permissions, select one or more standard users. In the Actions menu, select Add administrator privilege.

    To remove administrator permissions, select one or more administrators. In the Actions menu, select Remove administrator privilege.

Back to top

Add users

If your PulseUno instance is configured for internal authentication, you can add new users to PulseUno.

To add a user:

  1. In PulseUno, navigate to Administration > Users.

  2. On the Users page, click New User .

  3. In the Add User dialog box, specify the following user details:

    Field Description
    User Name Enter a username for logging in.
    Full Name Enter a user’s first and last name.
    Email Address Enter a user’s main email address. PulseUno will use this email for notifications.
    Secondary Email Addresses (Optional) If a user may commit to Git using a different email address, enter one or more additional email addresses.
    Role (Administrator) Select this option to assign a user an administrator role.
  4. Click Add.

    To add another user, click Add & Another.

After you have added a user, proceed to set the user's password.

Back to top

Change a user's password

If your PulseUno instance is configured for internal authentication, for example, when installed standalone, you can set user passwords.

If PulseUno is configured for external authentication, such as LDAP or Dimensions CM, you must set passwords in the external system.

You can also set up secure SSH authentication that enables you to access the Git server from a Git command line. For details, see Configure SSH authentication.

To change a PulseUno password:

  1. In PulseUno, navigate to Administration > Users.

  2. Select a user from the list. Use search to help you find users.

  3. Click Change Password.

  4. In the change password dialog box, enter a new password and confirm it.

  5. Click Change Password.

Caution: When you log in to PulseUno, entering the wrong password 4 times locks you out of your account for 15 minutes.

Back to top

Lock and disable users

As an administrator, you can lock, unlock, disable, and enable user accounts.

A locked user can no longer access PulseUno but can still be added as a reviewer and receives notifications. Use this option if you need to temporarily prevent a user from logging in to PulseUno.

A disabled user can no longer access PulseUno, be added as a reviewer, and receive notifications. Use this option if you need to permanently deactivate a user's account.

To lock or disable a user:

  1. In PulseUno, navigate to Administration > Users.
  2. On the Users page, select a user from the list. Use search to help you find users.
  3. To lock a user, select Lock from the Actions menu.

    To disable a user, select Disable from the Actions menu.

To unlock a user's account, select Unlock from the Actions menu.

To activate a disabled account, select Enable from the Actions menu.

Back to top

Delete users

If your PulseUno instance is configured for internal authentication, you can remove users from PulseUno.

Note: Deleting a user is permanent. You cannot restore a deleted account.

To delete a user:

  1. In PulseUno, navigate to Administration > Users.
  2. On the Users page, select a user from the list. Use search to help you find users.
  3. Click the Delete icon and then confirm your action.

Deleted users are removed from the list of users in the UI, and their previous activity is displayed under anonymized names, for example, Deleted user 123.

Back to top

See also: