Create and manage Git repositories

As an administrator or space owner, you can create, edit, and remove Git repositories in PulseUno.

To add a Git repository, you need a space. For details on how to create one, see Create spaces.

Create a Git repository

As an administrator or space owner, you can create local Git repositories. When you initialize a Git repository, PulseUno enables you to populate it with the contents from a custom template, a Dimensions CM stream, or another Git repository.

Large file support (LFS): PulseUno provides large file support (LFS) for Git repositories. When you track a file with LFS, the repository stores a pointer for each file version instead of the actual file. This way, when you check out a Git repository, PulseUno downloads only the latest file, excluding all the file's revisions. This enables you to download faster and save space. To set up LFS, download and install the Git LFS extension.

To create a Git repository:

  1. In PulseUno, navigate to Spaces and select the space where you want to add a repository.
  2. Click Create Git Repository.
  3. On the New Git Repository page, provide the following details:

    Field Description
    Repository name Enter a name for your repository.
    The name becomes a part of the path to your repository.
    Repository URL (Already provided) The full path to your repository.
    Description (Optional) Enter additional information about the repository.
    Initialize repository Select how you want to initialize the repository:
    As an empty repository Create an empty repository with no branches.
    With a Readme file Create a repository with a default branch.
    With content from a built-in template Create a repository with the same content and structure as the custom template you created earlier. For details about templates, see Create a Git repository template.

    Synchronize a branch from another repository

    Create a repository with the default branch that will be synchronized with a Dimensions CM stream:

    1. Select a Dimensions CM repository connection. For details on how to create a connection, see Connect to a Dimensions CM repository.

    2. Select a product in the Dimensions CM repository to which you are connecting.

    3. Select a Dimensions CM stream to synchronize with.

    4. To copy the entire history of the stream, clear the Clone tip of stream option. By default, no historical changesets are pulled into the new Git repository.

    Import from another Git repository

    Create a repository with content imported from another Git repository, for example, from GitHub or BitBucket.

    Provide the URL, username, and password for the source repository.

    Default branch If you’re initializing a repository with a Readme file or with content from a template, specify the default branch, for example, main or development.
    Visibility level

    Set the visibility level to define who has access to the repository:

    • Private (default). Only authenticated users who have member permissions to the repository can access it.
    • Internal. Authenticated users without member permissions have guest access and can clone or pull the repository. Unauthenticated users have no access.
    • Public. Authenticated users without member permissions as well as unauthenticated users have guest access and can clone or pull the repository.
    Builds Keep this option selected to run builds using chains.
    Requests provided by (Optional) If you set up a connection to a request provider such as Atlassian Jira or Micro Focus ALM Octane, you can select it to integrate with the repository.
    Reviews Keep this option selected to automatically create reviews when delivering changes.
    Pull Requests Keep this option selected to automatically create pull requests.
    Check Lists Select this option to use a check list for reviews and pull requests. Then select the check list you want to use.
  4. Click Save.

Tip: Repository settings apply to all branches in a repository. You can change the settings for individual branches at the branch level.

Back to top

Edit a Git repository

As an administrator, you can modify the name and description of a repository.

To edit a Git repository:

  1. In PulseUno, navigate to Spaces and select the space containing the repository.

  2. Open the repository.

  3. In the sidebar, select Settings. The Git repository's general settings open.

  4. Change the Git repository's name and/or description. Use the tools to format and preview the description.

  5. To modify access to the repository, change the visibility level:

    Visibility level Description
    Private Only authenticated users who have member permissions to the repository can access it.
    Internal Authenticated users without member permissions have guest access and can clone or pull the repository.
    Unauthenticated users have no access.
    Public Authenticated users without member permissions as well as unauthenticated users have guest access and can clone or pull the repository.
  6. Click Save.

Back to top

Delete a Git repository

As an administrator, you can remove Git repositories from PulseUno.

PulseUno enables you to remove a repository instantly or schedule to delete it in 7 days. During those 7 days, you can cancel the deletion anytime.

Caution: Deleting a repository removes all of its contents permanently. A deleted repository cannot be restored.

To delete a Git repository:

  1. In PulseUno, navigate to Spaces and select the space containing the repository you want to delete.

  2. Open the repository.

  3. In the sidebar, select Settings > Advanced.

  4. On the Advanced page, click Delete This Product, and confirm your action. The Git repository is now scheduled to be deleted in 7 days.

  5. To delete the repository instantly, click Complete Deletion Now.

  6. In the warning dialog box, enter the name of the relevant space and Git repository.

  7. Click Complete Deletion Now.

    The Git repository is permanently removed.

To stop the repository deletion:

  1. In PulseUno, navigate to Spaces and select the space containing the Git repository.

  2. Open the repository scheduled for deletion.

  3. In the sidebar, select Settings > Advanced.

  4. On the Advanced page, click Stop Deletion, and confirm your action.

Back to top

See also: