Create and manage Git repositories

As an administrator or space owner, you can create, modify, and remove Git repositories in PulseUno. You can also pull Git repositories into an IDE such as Visual Studio Code or IntelliJ IDEA.

Create Git repository

As an administrator or space owner, you can create local Git repositories.

When you initialize a Git repository, PulseUno enables you to populate it with the contents from a custom template, a Dimensions CM stream, or another Git repository.

To create a Git repository:

  1. From the spaces list at the top right, select the space where you want to add a Git repository.
  2. On the Products page, click Create Git Repository.
  3. On the new Git repository page, provide the following details:

    Field Description
    Repository name Enter a name for your repository.
    The name becomes a part of the path to your repository.
    Repository URL (Already provided) The full path to your repository.
    Description (Optional) Enter additional information about the repository. Use the toolbar buttons to format and preview the description.
    Initialize repository Select how you want to initialize the repository:
    As an empty repository Create an empty repository with no branches.
    With a Readme file Create a repository with a default branch.
    With content from a built-in template Create a repository with the same content and structure as the custom template you created earlier. For details about templates, see Create Git repository template.

    Synchronize a branch from another repository

    Create a repository with the default branch to be synchronized with a Dimensions CM stream:

    1. Select a Dimensions CM repository connection. For details on how to create a connection, see Connect to Dimensions CM repository.

    2. Select the product in the Dimensions CM repository to which you are connecting.

    3. Select a Dimensions CM stream to synchronize with.

    4. To copy the entire history of the stream, clear the Clone tip of stream option. By default, no historical changesets are pulled into the new Git repository.

    Import from another Git repository

    Create a repository with content imported from another Git repository, for example, from GitHub or BitBucket:

    1. Provide the URL, username, and password for the source repository.

    2. To import from an HTTPS source that uses a self-signed SSL certificate, select Disable SSL certificate validation to bypass SSL verification.

      Caution: Use this option only if you are sure that the source is trusted.

    Default branch If you’re initializing a repository with a Readme file or with content from a template, specify the default branch, for example, main or development.
    Visibility level

    Set the visibility level to define who has access to the repository:

    • Private (default). Only authenticated users who have member permissions to the repository can access it.
    • Internal. Authenticated users without member permissions have guest access and can clone or pull the repository. Unauthenticated users have no access.
    • Public. Authenticated users without member permissions as well as unauthenticated users have guest access and can clone or pull the repository.
    Requests provided by (Optional) If you connected to a request provider such as Atlassian Jira or Micro Focus ALM Octane, you can select it to provide issues or work items in the Git repository.
    Reviews Keep this option selected to automatically create reviews when delivering changes.
    Pull requests Keep this option selected to automatically create pull requests.
    Check lists Select this option to use a check list for reviews and pull requests. Then select the check list you want to use.
  4. Click Save.

Tip: Git repository settings apply to all branches in a repository. You can change the settings for individual branches at the branch level.

Back to top

Edit Git repository

You can change the name, description, and visibility level of your Git repository.

To modify a Git repository:

  1. From the spaces list at the top right, select a space.

  2. On the Products page, open the Git repository you want to change.

  3. In the sidebar, select Settings. The Git repository's General settings open.

  4. Change the Git repository's name and/or description. Use the toolbar buttons to format and preview the description.

  5. To modify access to the repository, change the visibility level:

    Visibility Description
    Private Only authenticated users who have member permissions to the repository can access it.
    Internal Authenticated users without member permissions have guest access and can clone or pull the repository.
    Unauthenticated users have no access.
    Public Authenticated users without member permissions, and unauthenticated users have guest access and can clone or pull the repository.
  6. Click Save.

Back to top

Clone Git repository

Copy your PulseUno Git repository's URL so that you can specify it in your development environment to clone the repository to your local machine.

You can copy a Git repository's URL in the following formats:

HTTP http://<hostname>:<port>/git-server/repo/<my-space>/<my-repo>
SSH ssh://<username>@<hostname>:<port>/pulse/repo/<my-space>/<my-repo>

If you work with Visual Studio Code or IntelliJ IDEA, you can pull a repository directly to your IDE.

Large file support (LFS): PulseUno provides large file support (LFS) for Git repositories. When you track a file with LFS, the repository stores a pointer for each file version instead of the actual file. This way, when you clone a Git repository, PulseUno downloads only the latest file, excluding all the file's revisions. This enables you to download faster and save space. To set up LFS, download and install the Git LFS extension.

To clone a Git repository:

  1. From the spaces list at the top right, select a space.

  2. On the Products page, open the Git repository you want to clone.

  3. In the toolbar, click Clone.

  4. To copy the URL, click Copy to clipboard next to the SSH or HTTP link. You can now use this link to clone the repository.

  5. To pull the Git repository to your IDE, select the appropriate Visual Studio Code or IntelliJ IDEA option.

    The IDE opens, where you can specify the target location.

    Note: Make sure you have access to the repository you're pulling. To pull a private Git repository, you need to authenticate first.

Back to top

Move Git repository

As an administrator or space owner, you can move a Git repository to another space.

To move a Git repository:

  1. From the spaces list at the top right, select a space.

  2. On the Products page, open the Git repository you want to move.

  3. In the sidebar, select Settings > Advanced.

  4. On the Advanced page, click Move to Another Space.

  5. In the Move Product dialog box, select a space from the list, and click Move.

Back to top

Delete Git repository

As an administrator or space owner, you have permissions to remove Git repositories from PulseUno.

You can choose to delete a repository instantly or schedule to delete it in 7 days. During those 7 days, you can cancel the deletion anytime.

Caution: Deleting a repository removes all its contents permanently. A deleted repository cannot be restored.

To delete a Git repository:

  1. From the spaces list at the top right, select a space.

  2. On the Products page, open the Git repository you want to delete.

  3. In the sidebar, select Settings > Advanced.

  4. On the Advanced page, click Delete This Product, and confirm your action. The Git repository is now scheduled to be deleted in 7 days.

  5. To delete the repository instantly, click Complete Deletion Now.

  6. In the warning dialog box, enter the name of the relevant space and Git repository.

  7. Click Complete Deletion Now. The Git repository is permanently removed.

To cancel the repository deletion:

  1. From the spaces list at the top right, select the relevant space.

  2. On the Products page, open the Git repository scheduled for deletion.

  3. In the sidebar, select Settings > Advanced.

  4. On the Advanced page, click Stop Deletion, and confirm your action.

Back to top

See also: