The Upgrade Process

If you were working with an earlier version of Service Virtualization Management, follow the upgrade process to install and start working with a new version.

Designer upgrade

When you upgrade to a new version of the Service Virtualization Management Designer, the previous version is removed before the new version is installed. Virtualization projects and services are not affected, and remain on the Designer machine.

To install the new version of the Service Virtualization Management Designer on client machines, see Installing Service Virtualization Management on Windows.

After installation, you must migrate your projects. For details, see Project Migration.

Server upgrade

When you upgrade to a new version of the Service Virtualization Management Server, the previous version is removed before the new version is installed, and all deployed services are undeployed. To assist you with the upgrade process, the Server Backup tool is run during the upgrade process, which backs up the Service Virtualization Management Server state before installing the new version.

Note: To work with FIPS mode and Service Virtualization Management 4.10, enable FIPS only after successfully installing Service Virtualization Management Server 4.10.

After installing the new version, the installer migrates the backed up services to the new version and runs Server Restore, which redeploys the virtual services and restores other configuration information to the server.

The installation wizard provides the following backup, migration, and deployment options.

For more details on installing the new version of the Service Virtualization Management Server, see Installing Service Virtualization Management on Windows.

Use-case scenario:

The following example demonstrates how you might implement the upgrade process in your organization.

Server administrator:

  1. Upgrade all Service Virtualization Management Servers in the department to the new version.

  2. Using the Resource Manager migration tool, migrate project and virtual services located in shared repositories, such as on a network file system, or in HPE ALM.

    Note: You cannot deploy services to the upgraded server until they are migrated.

  3. Using the Resource Manager deployment tool, deploy migrated services to your Service Virtualization Management Servers.

Designer user:

  1. Upgrade the Service Virtualization Management Designer on your local machine.

    Note: You cannot work with upgraded projects or services until you upgrade the Designer.

  2. Using the Designer or the Resource Manager tool, migrate and deploy virtual services that are stored locally on your machine.

For more details on these tools, or to run them manually, see: