Server Authentication

To prevent unauthorized service management of the Service Virtualization Server, you can limit access to the server through user authentication.

The Service Virtualization Designer accesses the Service Virtualization Server using HTTP Basic Authentication, over HTTPS. The Server grants access to the Designer based on one of the following:

  • A local Windows users account, located on the Server machine.

  • A Windows domain account in a trusted domain, or in the same domain as the Service Virtualization Server.

To configure authentication:

This section also includes:

Service Virtualization User Groups

During installation of the Service Virtualization Server, built-in user groups are created on the server. These groups grant various levels of access to a Service Virtualization Server, or its resources, such as virtual services and agents, as follows:

User Group Permissions
SV Operators
  • View virtual services deployed on the Service Virtualization Server
  • Switch service simulation modes
  • Unlock services

Note: SV Operators can view only partial agent configuration information.

SV Publishers
  • View virtual services deployed on the Service Virtualization Server
  • Switch service simulation modes
  • Unlock services
  • Deploy services; full access to owned services (deploy, undeploy, update)

Note: SV Publishers can view only partial agent configuration information.

SV Runtime Administrators

View, create, configure, and delete agent configurations on the Service Virtualization Server

Note: SV Runtime Administrators do not have permissions for viewing or managing services.

SV Server Administrators
  • Full access to Server resources
  • Modify Server access permissions

Example: Managing access permissions:

You can also manage group membership using the Service Virtualization Management interface.

In addition, you can manage access permissions to individual resources on the Service Virtualization Server, such as virtual services.

For details on Service Virtualization Management, see Service Virtualization Management.

SVM Users

Log in to Service Virtualization Management.

For details, see Get Started with Service Virtualization Management.

Guidelines

  • You can modify permissions for specific users by adding them to, or removing them from, these groups.

  • A user who is not assigned to any of the groups cannot view any agent data or any services deployed on the server.

  • Service Virtualization enforces access permissions only when server authentication is enabled.

  • The groups are created regardless of whether the Server authentication option is selected during the Server installation. This enables you to reconfigure at a later stage. For details on changing authentication options, see the section on changing Server security settings in the Service Virtualization Installation Guide (accessible from Content and PDFs).

  • Uninstalling or reinstalling Service Virtualization does not affect these groups. Your changes to group membership are maintained between installations.

  • Every authenticated Windows user has access to /ping and /info resources. This does not depend on Service Virtualization authentication.

Server Access Permissions

You can view access permissions to a Service Virtualization Server and its resources using the Service Virtualization Management interface.

If you are a member of the SV Server Administrators group, or the creator of a resource, you can also add and configure permissions for additional users and groups.

Note: You cannot delete the built-in Service Virtualization user groups from the server or from a server resource, or modify the permissions.

For more details on Service Virtualization Management, see the Service Virtualization Help Center (http://admhelp.microfocus.com/sv/en/latest).