Monitoring tab

This topic describes how to use the Monitoring tab to monitor users currently connected to ALM.

Overview

You can use the Monitoring tab to perform the following:

  • Monitor the users currently connected to an ALM server.

  • View the licenses that are used by each connected user.

  • Send messages to users connected to your ALM projects.

  • Disconnect users from projects.

  • (For SaaS users only) Monitor audit log

Back to top

Monitor user connections

For each user, you can view the domain and project being used, the user's machine name, the time the user first logged in to the project, and the time the most recent action was performed. You can also view the client type connection to the ALM server.

  1. In Web Administration, click the Monitoring > Connected Users tab.

    Image to be added

    Tip: You can click any column heading to change the sort order of the column from ascending to descending.

    UI Element Description
    Disconnects selected users from ALM. For details, see Disconnect users.
    Select connected users and click it to open the Send Message dialog box. It enables you to send messages to the selected users. For details, see Send messages to connected users.
    Opens the Actions on Domains/Projects dialog box. It enables you to disconnect all users from selected projects. For details, see Disconnect users.
    Opens the Actions on Domains/Projects dialog box. It enables you to send messages to all users connected to selected projects. For details, see Send messages to connected users.

    Refreshes the connections list. For details, see Refresh connections list.

    Groups connected users. For details, see Group connected users.
    Filters connected users by domain, project, username, host, or client type.
    Domain The domain of the project associated with the connected user
    Project Name The project associated with the connected user
    User name The username of the connected user
    Host The host name of the connected user
    Login Time The login time of the connected user
    Last Action The last action time of the connected user
    Client Type The client type of the connected user
    Licenses in Use

    Licenses used by the connected user

    Note: To view the total number of licenses that are in use for each ALM module, click the Licenses tab. For details, see Licenses tab.

  2. Refresh the connections list.

    Click the Refresh Settings button , and select a refresh option.

    • To manually refresh the connections list, select Refresh.

    • To enable automatic refresh, select Automatic Refresh > Set Refresh Rate. In the Refresh Rate field, specify a value, and click OK.

  3. You can group connected users.

    Click the Groups button , and select a group-by option.

    • To group connected users by project, select Group By Project.

    • To group connected users by user, select Group By User.

    • To clear the Groups settings, select Clear All.

Back to top

Send messages to connected users

You can send messages to connected users. This enables you to routinely inform connected users about important maintenance activities. For example, disconnecting a project, or restarting an ALM server.

After you send a message, a pop-up window automatically opens on the user's machine displaying the message text. The message box is displayed until the user closes it or disconnects from ALM.

Send messages to selected users
  1. From the connections list, select the users you want to whom you want to send a message.

    • To send a message to a user or group of users, select the row of the user or group.

    • To send a message to multiple users, use Ctrl or Shift to highlight users to include.

  2. Click the Send Message button .

    In the Send Message dialog box, the To field displays the recipients of the message in the format Domain: project name: user name

  3. In the Message field, enter your message.

  4. Click Send.

Send messages to all connected users of selected projects
  1. Click the Send to Projects/Domain button .

  2. In the Actions on Domains/Projects dialog box, select the target projects.

    All the users connected to the selected projects will receive your message.

  3. Click Send.

Back to top

Disconnect users

You can disconnect selected users and disconnect all users from selected projects.

Disconnect selected users
  1. From the connections list, select the users you want to whom you want to send a message.

    • To send a message to a user or group of users, select the row of the user or group.

    • To send a message to multiple users, use Ctrl or Shift to highlight users to include.

  2. Click the Disconnect button .

  3. Click OK in the confirmation dialog box.

Disconnect all users from selected projects
  1. Click the Disconnect from Projects/Domain button .

  2. In the Actions on Domains/Projects dialog box, select the target projects.

  3. Click Disconnect.

Back to top

Monitor audit log

For SaaS users only

In the Monitoring > Audit Log tab, you can view and filter the list of operations performed in the ALM SaaS environments.

Note: Only users with the role that has the View Audit Log permission can access the Audit Log tab. Site admin and customer admin users are given this permission by default.

Users interface elements are described below.

UI Element Description

Exports operations to a .csv file.

Filters operations by conditions.

To filter operations:

  1. Click the Filter button .

  2. Specify the conditions.

  3. Click Filter .

Date

Displays the dates of the operations in chronological order (or reversed chronological order).

User Name

Displays the login names of the users who performed the operations.

To view operations performed by a specific user, enter its login name in the User Name filter.

Context

Displays the context of operations performed.

To view operations of a specific context, select the context in the Context filter.

Operation

Displays the type of operations performed.

To view a specific type of operations, select the type in the Operation filter.

Details

Displays the details of the operation.

To filter operations by details, enter a keyword or part of a keyword in the Details filter.

Status

Displays the operations Status.

To view operations of a specific status, select the status in the Status filter.

Source IP

Displays the source IP of the operation performer's machine.

To view operations done from specific IPs, enter a keyword or part of a keyword in the Source IP filter.

Destination IP

Displays the IP of the server's machine which the operation was made on.

To view operations done to specific IPs, entering a keyword or part of a key-word in the Destination IP filter.

ID Unique identifier of the operation.

Back to top

See also: