Shelve your personal changes
If you need to suspend work in progress or isolate work into a dedicated stream, you can shelve the changes from a work area into a topic stream. You can also remove the changes from a work area.
Review these guidelines before shelving your changes:
Shelving is based on the content of a local work area, not a repository.
Shelving hides changes so that they are only visible to you and the users you share the stream with.
You can restore earlier shelved changes into the other stream’s work area by merging the changes via a work area.
You can continue work in the topic stream created by shelving by using its own work area.
Web client: Shelving requires the use of Web Client Tools (supported on Windows only).
After you have shelved changes, you can:
Reset the work area to set aside the changes and use it for other work.
Rehome the work area to switch it from the original stream to a new topic stream.
The following table provides examples of shelving.
|Shelve changes and reset a work area
Remove changes from a work area that you do not want to deliver to the associated stream when:
After the shelving operation is complete, you can reset the work area to the latest repository content.
|Back up changes
When you are sharing a stream with other developers but are not ready to deliver your local changes, you can back up your work by committing it to a topic stream. This creates a snapshot of the work area at a given point in time. You can later revert your work area to this snapshot by merging from the shelved topic stream.
When creating backups, you keep the local changes and do not need to reset the work area.