Assign roles

A role in ALM Octane determines what actions a user may perform or what areas of ALM Octane they can view. Assign roles to users to give specific permissions.

For details on creating users, see Manage users.

Site admin, shared space admin, or workspace admin permissions are required.

Roles and privilege inheritance

Within ALM Octane, roles inherit privileges from other roles.

Back to top

What roles are available?

Assign one or more of the following roles to users:

Back to top

Assign or remove roles

Depending on your role, you can add and remove roles for existing users. Every ALM Octane user must be assigned at least one role in each workspace to which he/she is assigned.

Assign or unassign roles to existing users

Assign and unassign roles at the space or workspace levels:

From the space level

Shared space admin permissions are required.

  1. In Settings , click Spaces and select a space.

  2. In the Users tab, click a row to select a user. Shift-click to select additional users.

  3. Click Assign to Roles/Workspaces or Unassign from Roles.

  4. Select the roles and workspaces that you want to assign or remove.

    • To add another role to the same user, click Add role to assign. You may assign roles to multiple workspaces for a single user.

    • To remove a role, click Unassign from Roles and select a role to unassign and the workspaces from which to remove the role.

      You cannot remove a user's last remaining role. Each user must be assigned to at least one role in each workspace to which he/she is assigned.

  5. Click Assign or Unassign.

From the workspace level

Workspace admin permissions are required.

  1. In Settings , click Spaces and select a workspace.

  2. In the Users tab, click a row to select a user. Shift-click to select additional users.

  3. Right-click and choose Bulk Update.

  4. Select the Roles field.

  5. Select the Roles to assign. If you want to unassign a role, make sure it is not selected.

  6. Decide if you want the changes to overwrite the existing roles.

    To unassign roles, you must choose Replace existing values.

  7. Click Update.

Workspace admins and shared space admins cannot unassign themselves from these roles. Other admins can do this for them.

    Note:
  • To see all of a user's roles and workspaces, click the user ID. You may also assign or unassign roles and workspaces in this view.
  • The Maintenance Protocol and Micro Service Site Admin roles are used internally for synchronization, to deploy the Synchronizer services. For details, refer to the Synchronizer Installation Guide. Do not modify or delete these roles.

Assign the site admin role to existing users

Site admin permissions are required.

  1. In Settings , click Site.

  2. In the Users tab grid view, select the user who should also be a site admin.

  3. Click to display the Roles column.

  4. Select Site Admin in the Roles column for that user.

Back to top

See also: